Poem: Too Much is Never Enough

TPC Publishing
3 min readApr 16, 2024

An overwhelming passionate soulmate love

Written in 2007

Photo by Rhand McCoy on Unsplash

Too Much is Never Enough





Your delicateness and tender touch

Make my heart furiously rush

In the ecstacy of explosive sweet pain

for the hungry desperate want of you

Like inner violence to the heart

Rupturing

We suffer when apart

But you and I can never be

We shared too much misery

And though you tell me you love me

We know you have to make that journey

And may never come back from that land

Ever





Even lifetimes ago

We have shared memory

of getting lost and separated

And seeking the other

Through new husbands and wives

In all those past lives





We knew this at first sight

And we both tried to fight

I took flight

You nearly died

And though we reunited

We remained divided

I touched you inside your skin

I wanted to be there within

Safe and warm

Free from harm

It was too intense for you

You didn’t know what to do





So you left me alone

I had no home

Nothing at all to do

The desolate days turned to weeks

To a year

And when next we met

We cried at the lost minutes

And made up for the time

Till dizzy and crazed and weak

It was fiercely sublime

And we were scared of the power of this

We were challenging God with our bliss





Our suffering passion is agonising to the core

I know it is not long until I see you no more

We know it is…

--

--

TPC Publishing

Observer, poet, empath, lover. A committed unrealistic, ethereal, serial under-achiever. Creativity is revolution. Beer is good too.