Foot Race

Rocket Worley
2 min readApr 6, 2017

--

There was a cop, in our city, who was famous for giving out tickets. He would have traffic backed up with people pulled over, to the curb for blocks. His partner would be almost running behind him writing up the violations.

It was even thought, he might have set a world record, but the city did not want that kind of reputation. The record was not pursued.

The cop was charged with assault on a female person he had arrested. He and the dubious fame he had aquired, just faded away from public consciousness.

Many years ago, I helped train a group of cops for the police boxing smoker. It was pretty cool being inside a closed group. Cops tend to only relate to one another. Few of us outside said group can understand the job. An officer of the law is an enforcer of the court. Yet, they have the right of discretion.

Ever talk your way out of a ticket?

A few years back, I was pulled over for speeding. As the cop walked up to my window, I released my seat belt so as to better reach my wallet. He let me slide for speeding, but charged me with driving without a belt. It was a lesser charge, but…

“I’ll give you a speeding ticket if you prefer.”

I shut up.

In recent times, there has been a lot said about the abuse of authority, to say the least, with law enforcement officers. As an average Joe white guy I do not feel qualified saying anymore on the subject.

I would, however address the issue of authority, and judegment.

A few days ago, I recieved my employee review. Not a fun time for me.

There are two replies to the stadardized form the company requires submitted for the record:

On target, or needs improvement.

I felt like a child in grade school again. It was humiliating. The office doors were closed and I was asked for comments.

I only shook my head. A meeting is a gathering to explain what has already been decided.

I got a 2.5 percent raise. Three present is tops. I was fined .5 percent.

It was already written. I was handed a copy of the review befire I sat down. All was decided before I walked into the room. Want to submit a comment? Why waste my breath?

My boss is the cop, I am the speeding driver. Take the lesser charge, go on about your day, resistance is futile.

One should choose his battles.

--

--