Tessa Young
3 min readSep 29, 2023

--

Finding Yourself Again (or for the first time)

One way or another, at some point in our lives, or at many different points in our lives, we stop. Look at ourselves, look around us, and do not like what we see. Whether that means we don’t like our current situations, or we realize that we haven’t been taking the best care of ourselves, we can feel that something isn’t right and needs to change. Sometimes it is easy to pinpoint exactly what factor needs to change, other times it is really hard and an extremely pivotal moment in our lives. But regardless of how easy or hard it may be to make a change, it is absolutely necessary in order to continue to move forward and grow as an individual.

This time last year I looked in a mirror and I saw a person I did not know. I saw a person who was suffering, tired, sick, a person trying hard to convince everyone else that they were happy and in tune with themselves and the world around them. I convinced other people to the point of convincing myself that I was okay.

But I wasn’t.

What did I do when I realized how unwell I was?

I took stock of every aspect of my life, thought about who or what caused me to become so out of touch with myself, and made the steps necessary to remove myself from those situations or remove those people from my life. That isn’t easy, and sometimes it is extremely complicated and dramatic, but really…

--

--

Tessa Young

Lover of the natural world, writer of poetry & prose.