Tessa Palmer
2 min readFeb 8, 2018
I’m reading Dracula at the moment in preparation for a trip to Transylvania in Romania later this year!

I love hearing what books other people have read and loved! I’ve just read an article about someone’s favorite books from last year and I thought I’d do the same.

I’ve taken a look at all the books I read last year and whittled out the wheat from the chaff to bring you a quick list of my favorites. Of course, there were many more that I read throughout the year, but these are the ones that stuck with me most for one reason or another.

I try to alternate between fiction and non-fiction when reading so the list below is a mix of both: 2 fact, 3 fiction. Here goes!

Non-Fiction

  1. Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari

Wow, what a book. Really leaves you reeling and puts into perspective many of the things we take for granted in our society. I loved this book so much that I bought Homo Deus, the sequel, to read next.

2. The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don’t Succeed And What To Do About It by Michael E. Gerber

I really liked this one. Straightforward and to the point, the book was littered with examples and actionable steps.

Fiction

4. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

This had been on my list for a while and I wish I could read it anew again. What a life! This book opened my eyes to another world and made me want to plan a trip to Kyoto.

3. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

This was a really quirky and engaging read. If you can, try not to find out about the plot twist before reading — it’s a pretty good one! Certainly a book I couldn’t put down easily.

5. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

I started off reading Murder on the Orient Express and got interested in reading more murder mysteries by the Detective-Writing Queen. Although this book is a surprising one to be on the list, it sure renewed my enjoyment of the genre and didn’t disappoint!

What are some of your favorite books you’ve read recently? I would love to hear your suggestions!