Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

8 Tips from Kurt Vonnegut on Writing

Tessa Palmer
4 min readJun 8, 2019

--

I vividly remember the first time I read Cat’s Cradle.

Reading it was a grand AH-WHOOM

If you haven’t had the pleasure, Cat’s Cradle is a fantastical tale of science, technology and human choice written by the legendary Kurt Vonnegut. Vonnegut also wrote Slaughterhouse-Five and Player Piano, amongst many others.

I love Vonnegut’s writing style. It’s so engaging from the moment you start reading and his story-telling is second-to-none. Complex characters deftly explained in detail, a gripping plotline laced with irony and black humor and some spectacular examples of the wonders of imagination.

Unless you’ve been frozen to ice, you should go read it.

A short while ago I came across some writing tips from the author, Kurt Vonnegut. Since I love his writing so much it’s no surprise that I lapped them up. While technically the advice is referring to “how to write a short story”, I think there is a lot that we can apply when writing articles, too.

I think these tips are valuable for all writers, whether you write short-form, long-form, poetry, short stories or non-fiction.

Here goes.

How to Write a Short Story:

1. Use the time of a total…

--

--