Photo by Gary Chan on Unsplash

I Got Scammed on Airbnb and Learned Valuable Business Lessons From It

Churn-stopping features that every entrepreneur should consider for their businesses

Tessa Xie
8 min readJul 31, 2021

--

When I booked a Hawaii vacation rental on Airbnb several weeks ago, I would have never imagined that I would be sitting on the street in the middle of the night with all my luggage, desperately trying to find an accommodation for the night because the apartment I booked doesn’t exist, after all, I have been a loyal Airbnb customer for years and have had countless great experiences, until now.

But dragging multiple pieces of luggage through town at night, dodging drunk people on the sidewalk, and spending a huge amount of money on a last-minute overpriced hotel room was just the beginning. The real nightmare was to contact the customer support teams of Airbnb and Evolve Vacation Rental.

Nobody knew how to deal with the situation even though this is NOT the first time this kind of thing happened (I personally have read multiple stories about people encountering scam listings on Airbnb). After hours of going back and forth with both support teams, I managed to get the full refund but was offered no compensation for the extra cost incurred. Airbnb successfully convinced me to take a break from it and to log back into my Marriott Bonvoy…

--

--

Tessa Xie

Data Science Manager in Tech, Ex-McKinsey Data Scientist; Avid Traveler, Diver and Painter. 🤿👩‍🎨 Writing a DS newsletter at https://www.divingintodata.com/