On Grace Notes

Tess Rinearson
1 min readNov 18, 2016

--

Grace Notes is a yearly event which celebrates local women in tech. It happens at the same time as the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing (GHC), but they aren’t affiliated in any way.

It started in 2015, as !GHC. And, true to its name, I started it because I wasn’t going to GHC.

I always joke that I was feeling FOMO — and this is true, I was feeling like I was missing out on meeting other amazing women. But that’s not the whole story.

Grace Notes is my take on what “tech feminism” can look like. It is deliberately diverse, intersectional, and inclusive. It does not cater to any single group of women in tech. It should be accessible to engineers, to designers, to marketers, to recruiters; it should appeal to new grads, mid-career women, and seasoned veterans.

I selected the speakers by reaching out to women in our community who inspire me. Grace Notes is intended to be a platform to celebrate and elevate and amplify women in our community, and I hope it’s doing its job so far.

--

--

Tess Rinearson

VP of Engineering, Tendermint Core. (Previously: @Chain, @Medium.)