Why Are You Still Supporting Donald Trump?

Tess Row
8 min readNov 9, 2023
Would you buy a used car from this man?

I grew up in rural Missouri. I was brought up to be wary of “city slickers” with their fancy talk and their fancy shoes. In the “Show-Me State,” I was told, we don’t fall for every scam that comes along. We check it out. We investigate. So why is it that so many of my childhood compatriots have fallen for Donald Trump?

Winter in the rural Midwest

To my eyes, Donald Trump is the quintessential snake-oil flim-flam man. He is the direct descendant of the insurance salesman who tried to charm four-year-old me into letting him into my house. He’s everything I was ever taught to be wary of. So why is it that so many rural people are still supporting him?

Here are some of my theories about that. I’ve also added some debunking material in hopes that some of my friends from childhood will read this and change their mind about Trump. Our country’s future may depend on it.

Religion

A man of faith?

A lot of Trump supporters seem to be under the impression that Trump is a devout Christian. The Hill recently…

--

--

Tess Row

If it deals with science, technology or hard facts, I am interested in it. I write on just about anything but love medical, HVAC, cannabis and legal most.