How far is the journey to heaven?

Tesilimi Yusuf
4 min readAug 24, 2020

--

She will often call me to know how well I am. She is never tired of checking up on me. Sometimes I often think she has a periscope on me. Oh, she usually calls me “Egbon mi” with her sweet voice. She was one of my biggest fans. Now I know I could have done better. I am her elder brother. For several years, I was not really available to even pay her a surprise visit. But in the last few days, she needed me more than anything else. In her weakness, on seeing my face after a long time and unable to utter a word, she tried to reach out to grab my hand. She was too weak to do so and I quickly reach out to hers. She never needed anything from me, but in the time of her greatest need, I was helpless. I could not save her. I watched helplessly and could not hold my tears. Mariam was a good sister. A part of me died with you today. How fickle life is. Death, where is thy victory?

I do not know how far the journey to the heavens is. The closest I have been is on a plane. But if the heaven we hear about is what we see above, I do not know how long it would take for you to see the Lord. But please help me ask our dear Lord when you see him; why is it that those whom he loves most, die young? Why would he not look at all the amazing lives you are changing and have mercy? Why, why is all I could mutter. But I still remember that he is the unquestionable. To him, we came from, and to him, we belong.

I want to dry my tears but they won't stop flowing. I want to remember you for the beautiful gift you gave us all. You were a special princess. You lived that we all may find happiness. I can not stop reading all you have done within your short lifetime. Even in death, I am so proud of you. I look at all your achievements and I am humbled dearest sister. You started foundations to help children, help women, and even others in need. You lived for others. You cared for all.

My techie sister. I remember holding your hand for the last time on Saturday 22nd. You wanted to tell me so much but could not utter a word. I could feel the effort you were making on your sickbed even on a life support machine. Death knew it had to come for you at your weakest moment. You fought the good fight. But the Lord has other plans. Sweet sister, please come whisper to me in my dreams. All those things you have always wanted to tell me, I still will listen to you. However, I have something to tell you. Ola stood by you till the end. He is the one holding us all together. He was by your hospital bed every day. He was never tired. We both agreed we would stand by you till the end. But I must confess he kept this promise more.

And I do hope when our own journey on this earth comes to an end, just like yours, our story will be of courage. Of diligence and commitment to the well being of all. We hope, and by his grace, we will, be worthy of your expectations. Princess Mariam Adams, I will miss you so much. You will always be my little princess. You will never be forgotten. Adieu, my little sister.

- By Tesilimi Yusuf (A tribute to my little sister, Princess Mariam Adams)

Mariam’s life and times:

Princess Mariam Adams Awards and Participations

European Audio Visual Entrepreneur 2014
Tony Elumelu Entrepreneurship Programme 2015
Microsoft Innovative Educator Expert 2016–2018
Cherie Blair Foundation ROAD2GROWTH Women in Business 2016
Green Me Global Film Festival 2016
Global Start-up Ecosystem 2017
African Start-up Ecosystem 2017
Technovation Regional Ambassador 2017
Lagos State Employment Trust Fund 2017
Rise Up Leader 2018
Enter Africa Gamification Ambassador 2018

COMPANY

In 2014, Mariam founded HamazonACADEMIA a digital media technology, software development and IoT organization to create a life of sustainability through technical hands-on and fieldwork experience

INNOVATIONS

MaiEDUpad, an out of school children initiative educational pad to eliminate and reduce the number of children with no access to education.

Alert.ng, an application that connects Government and Citizens to promote good governance and also provide vital information as regards to Government policies and other information in the country.

WEP Nigeria, an empowerment programme for young ladies and women to encourage entrepreneurship to foster a life of sustainability.

Tech5000, an Information technology educational programme for youths to encourage STEM

DigitTEENs a digital media empowerment programme for youths to reduce unemployment and create an avenue for job opportunities and start-ups.

AGirlHasAName (Project Arya) is a back to school initiative for young girls. Empowering them digital media and giving them the opportunity to go back to school to finish their education.

MaiFARMLAND is a web-based eCommerce platform empowering local farmers financially through sales of their drops to cub the discrepancies in demand and supply caused by middlemen.

Princess Mariam Adams was a business mentor for:

Cherie Blair Foundation for Women in Business, UK
WOWE, Women of West Africa Entrepreneurship
Women Empowerment Programme, Nigeria

--

--

Tesilimi Yusuf

Tech Enthusiast | Creative Designer | Adventurer | Writer | Entrepreneur