Razer Basilisk V3 2022 Review

Tetraslam
3 min readNov 12, 2022

--

The Razer Basilisk V3 brings extremely high build quality and powerful performance to the table.

So I’ve had my Razer Basilisk for a little over a month now, so after much usage I think I’m ready to review this absolute beast of a mouse.

Introduction

The Basilisk is an extremely sturdy mouse, with initial impressions indicating an extremely solid assemblage and no flex on any of the exterior panels. Coming with 11 fully programmable buttons, it’s more than enough for everyone except the most hardcore MOBA/MMO gamers (in which case, the Razer Naga is a better fit). The side buttons are fluid, including the sensitivity clutch, which is perfect for using sniper rifles in FPS games like Valorant or CS:GO.

As is the norm with Razer, the Basilisk comes with absolutely iconic RGB lighting, from the beautifully-carved Razer logo on the palm, to the scroll wheel and even the base of the mouse to give your mousepad a slight glow as well! The lighting settings are fully configurable from the Razer Synapse software, and there are hundreds more options to choose from if you choose to download the Razer Chroma software, which gives you custom lighting options.

My Review

Using the Basilisk feels really good. It’s extremely well-balanced, fits the hand almost perfectly, and the buttons are perfectly placed. The left click button also allows drag clicking, which is a great bonus. The DPI button switches settings smoothly and quickly, with hardly noticeable switch times in between.

One thing I loved in particular was the scroll wheel: the option to switch between tactile scrolling and free-spin scrolling is incredibly useful when using the mouse for general use, and it’s extremely satisfying to just hear the click of the wheel switching modes. The scroll wheel also has two additional pseudo-buttons which you can use by tilting it to the left or right. I mapped these to switch my tabs quickly, which I found quite useful to use instead of alt + tab since this is faster and easier to use.

Synapse, once you get used to it, is quite a powerful software.

One thing that’s always bugged me is that installing Synapse often requires multiple restarts to get going, after which it works perfectly fine. But it’s quite tedious at the start.

The wire (I didn’t get the V3 pro) is easy to untangle and doesn’t get in the way of the mouse at all, which is an issue I had occasionally with my previous mouse (the RedGear DragonWar ELE-G9 Thor). So far, the Basilisk hasn’t presented a single problem, and I use it a LOT.

Final Verdict

If you can afford it, buy it. You won’t regret it. The only annoyance I have is with the initial installation of Synapse, and once that’s done it’s smooth sailing. This is a fantastic product by Razer, with superb design and on-point RGB lighting as you can always expect from any Razer product.

That’s it for this article! Check out my website or talk to me on Twitter while you wait for the next one.

--

--

Tetraslam

My name is Shresht Bhowmick. I’m a student, developer and entrepreneur.