Bipolar Disorder

Tfwadewrite
4 min readJan 13, 2024

Bipolar Disorder is Not an Untreatable Mental Illness

”Though I am often in the depths of misery, there is still calmness, pure harmony, and music inside me.”

— Vincent Van Gogh

Bipolar is a hard-to-treat mental illness. However, it can be managed, with proper medical intervention and a strong support system. This is not to say that it will be easy to live with, but with help, one can live with it and survive and even thrive.

I’m not an expert; I’m living with bipolar disorder. It is difficult. Things like major life decisions are particularly hard, but I am taking medications for it and using talk therapy, both of which I am grateful for, because I have strategies to cope with illness.

I also have PTSD from childhood sexual abuse. I have anxiety disorder, along with ADD. These all benefit from my treatment and makes me more likely to stay healthy.

However, you can easily reel from the effects of both highs and lows of bipolar disorder. One of the things that can help is establishing routines. It is immensely helpful in keeping symptoms in check.

“Actively maintaining daily and nightly routines is one of the most important behavioral changes you can undertake-aside from regularly taking your medication-to help keep you in the driver’s seat in managing your

--

--

Tfwadewrite

Lover of stories and reading. I'm a minimalist, but also a fan of nonfiction, finance and self-help.