Travel and Adventure

Discovering the Hidden Gems of Amiens: A Journey Through the Magnificent Notre Dame and Beyond!

Travel with me as I recount my time in the beautiful city of Amiens, France

Tyler Lubben BBA
3 min readAug 5, 2024

--

As my travels continue, let me introduce to you a charming city in France, Amiens. Amiens is a beautiful city and packed with history. I recently spent 5 days there and the time flew by as it was such a charming city to stay and explore in.

Amiens quickly stole my heart with its picturesque scenery and vibrant local life. From the stunning Notre Dame of Amiens to the bustling city center, there is so much to discover and fall in love with here.

The Hortillonnages

One of the must-see places in Amiens is the floating gardens, known as “hortillonnages.” These unique gardens were created in medieval times to grow vegetables and flowers on small islands surrounded by canals.

My wife and I took a boat tour through these gardens and it was a peaceful and interesting experience. It was unlike anything else we’ve experienced and a great peaceful addition to our itinerary.

--

--

Tyler Lubben BBA

Travel, Writing Advice and Finance Writer. Published Author.