Everything is OK….right?

TK
3 min readMar 23, 2018

--

Somedays I think that the civilized dog above is being sarcastic. Who could possibly, honest-to-God be sane in that moment? At first look this meme made me chuckle due to the irony.

It’s one of those small sketches that will stick with me forever. I relate too well to it.

There’s such a cognitive ease to just jumping on board of the ideology of Life being hard and we just have to deal it. When the fire starts and your sitting there staring at it, the mantra of “I’m fine" begins. Everyone on has had some level of suck occur. Someone let them down, lost the job, family passed, lack of finacial security etc. The list is endless.

A good buddy of mine and I were on the phone the other week playing catch up. He now lives out in Brooklyn, so phone tag is our new thang.

We were discussing about how much stuff in my personal life [a.k.a. baby mama dramma] had really elavated to the next level. Just some really unfortunate events ongoing that are completely out of my control.

He listened to me go through it all and how my mind has been racing with anxiety, with anger, with hopelessness.

He sympathized the best as any non-parent member could, then proceeded to bring up the meme at the top of this article…or whatever the hell this is.

He told me how it fits the current moments of my life, but the difference is that the dog and I are actually sane.

For one, coffee is fantastic to drink during all occasions.

Second, someone else was validating my world being on fire [so I’m not crazy] and I really am ok.

He went on to point out, even with my erratic emotional responses and desires to take some unhealthy action, I was behaving accordingly just drinking coffee in el cocina de fuego.

I think about that moment a lot. Other people use to run my world and I was victim to every bit of it. Any undesired circumstances with people, employment, finances, weather- I mean everything and my problems then weren’t really shit compared to some of my more current roadblocks.

Whats changed? Sanity is ever more present. I really am ok. My house is on fire. It does suck. I don’t like it and I don’t wish it on anyone else, but it IS fine.

The acceptance is the key. It’s not me saying “Hey its all going to shit and thats ok. I’ll just eat it". It’s just me acknowledging Life on Life’s terms which enables me to do something about it. The only thing I can do about it.

DO EVERYTHING I CAN [which means take action] TO CONTINUE TO FIND MORE WAYS TO BUILD MY SANITY AND LIVE LIFE WITH THE GRACE THAT HAS BEEN EXTENDED TO ME!

--

--