Ppinto
2 min readAug 9, 2020

A poem for my daughter

Lately, I have been over the moon
And sometimes, over the edge too.
She trips and laughs, plays and cries
And when I least expect it, she gives me a hug.
Though she is all laughter and sunshine,
She has a conscience no better than a thug.
She persuades me with such exceptional skills,
To do things that I don't want to do
To eat when I am not hungry, to sleep when I am not sleepy and,
To smile when I don't feel like it.

I want time to stay still
And still want it to fly by
To have her grow well
But the moments spent with her,
To be frozen in time.
As she kisses my long forgotten scars,
Cups my face with her tiny little hands;
And asks nothing in return but love -
But sometimes ice creams and chocolates too;
I can't help but fall in love with my mini miracle.

Amidst her sloppy smacks and surprise cuddles,
My poetry bloomed again.
For the first time in my life,
I let myself feel that which I didn't want to,
There weren't anymore questions but only answers.
There wasn't any more of - why am I here?
I found a reason;
A reason to live, love and be loved.
For all that you gave me, my dear daughter,
I pray to the One,
That I may do right by you.

Ppinto

writer, poet, someone who strives to be kind and loves peace.