No one is too busy to talk to you.

Thatchristiangirl
3 min readMay 9, 2023

--

Photo by Aiony Haust on Unsplash

I had a shower epiphany this morning.
I've actually had several shower epiphanies, but this one struck me hard. There's something about being in the shower alone in your thoughts, no phone, device, or person, just you and your thoughts.

I have a friend. She’s a lady in her late forties, who I probably should refer to as my role model or "big sister", but I choose to call her my friend because of the numerous personal conversations we’ve had. She was actually my brother’s client-turned-friend, but I like her so much, so I stole her from him. SORRY, V.
Now, this lady is a medical doctor. She’s a Nigerian, but she’s based in the United States. She has over twenty years of experience in her field. Her clientele is the crème de la crème of the world. The last sentence I wrote is actually code for Four countries’ Presidents call her for medical advice. Yes, she’s that much of a big deal. Several magazines have given her accolades for her work in the medical field. Apart from her practice abroad, she has her own hospital here in Nigeria. She’s married. And she has two lovely children. I’m trying to give as many details about her, without giving too much, to protect her privacy. I want to paint an accurate picture of how busy her life is.
Now, even with her schedule, this woman messages me every two weeks - "Hello sweetheart, How are you doing? I’m just checking up on you. I’m always here if you need anything."
We are not related. She doesn’t have to do this, but she does.

One of her numerous texts

I’ve dated a couple of guys who use their busyness as an excuse for their lack of commitment, but time’s up, I’ve decided to apply this mantra to my life. No one is too busy to check up on me.
And truly no one is too busy to check up on you. You’re either not a priority to them, or they just don’t care about you as much as they claim to.
I’ll also make more efforts to check up on the people that I love - my family members. I can’t claim to love them and yet never make time for them. So today, I’m going to call my ninety-year-old grandma and listen to her complain about how she has not eaten since morning. Then I’ll hear my cousin say in the background say, "Ah ah, Mama, why are you lying? You ate Eba with Okro five minutes ago."
P.S. She does this regularly because she low-key likes how we dote on her.

--

--