So, 2020?

Vimla Appadoo
3 min readJan 23, 2020

--

I’ve had a bit of a rocky start to 2020.

My new year (and new decade) has already been filled with lots of reflecting and understanding why I feel the way I do. I’m taking the time to let myself feel, rather than pushing for solutions or remedies. I’m letting myself know it’s okay to feel however I feel.

But, I want to take the time to write about some of the things I’m planning for this year. It helps me to plan. It helps me gain clarity and focus and helps keep me grounded in who I am and who I want to be.

So, this year:

I will spend more time with people who make me smile.

I’ve committed to take more responsibility for my happiness. I’ve started a Happiness Challenge and it’s a great starting point for understanding the things that are important to my happiness. I can already see that the people I love are a huge part of that. In the past, I’ve neglected spending time with the people who make me smile. I’ve put work, events and everything else first. I don’t regret it because it’s helped me get to where I am. But, now it’s time to rebalance the books and prioritise the people who make me smile the most.

I will be more focussed.

After stormy times over the festive break, I’ve pulled through with some clarity. I have a much better understanding of where I am now, and where I want to be. Understanding that has unlocked the ability to be focussed this year. It means being more conscious of the decisions I make, how I use my time and knowing how all of my decisions, big and small, are going to help me get to where I want to be. I’m committed to being focussed, so that I can live the life I want to live.

I will write a first draft of a book.

And as such, I’m happy to say that I’m going to write a book. If the first two things are behavioural, this is an output of those behaviours. I’m fascinated by company culture, and more importantly, culture design. I’ve done the rounds in lots of different organisations, of hugely varying scales and sizes and I’ve learnt a lot. As a service designer, I can see method in the madness. I’m designing a framework and understanding of culture design to help bring the best out of people, so that everyone can be their happiest — in and out of the office.

I’ve been brewing the idea about writing a book for a while, and it was before Christmas that idea really crystallised. But, it’s everything that’s happened since that’s really kicked my butt into gear to help put the cogs in motion to get it going and to think about what it’s going to be. So, if you fancy having a conversation about culture hit me up!

2020 is going to be the year I look after myself. It’s going to be the year I become the tortoise in the race and take a step back and think through everything I’ve learnt over the past ten years and what it means.

2020. It’s going to be big.

--

--

Vimla Appadoo

Head of Experience @ Culture Shift | Co - Founder of Honey Badger Clan | Co-Founder of SheSaysMCR | Rising Star | Young Digital Leader | Top 50 Future Leader |