Can I Really Remote Work From Anywhere?

Daydreaming about packing up and plugging in wherever there’s a decent Wi-Fi connection.

Liz Mary Stevens
3 min readOct 1, 2020
Image by Produtora Midtrack from Pexels

I recently came across a story in the Japan Times about how national parks across Japan have improved internet access to increase remote work capabilities and I found myself wondering what if.

There I sat, in the living room I’ve spent far too much time in over the past 6 months, readying myself for another dull day of work, staring out the window imagining I was somewhere else entirely.

The idea itself isn’t exactly new. Marek, the Indie Traveller, has been working remotely for years, but has seen the trend really take off during the pandemic. He says friends who work 9-to-5 jobs have been spending lockdown in beach houses or country cottages and he also notes that the CEO of Airbnb affirmed a surge in demand for holiday homes in rural areas for longer periods of time.

My office is working remotely at least until January and most likely through May of 2021. Beyond that, given how smoothly things have gone at home, if I made a request to continue working remotely I don’t see any reason why they’d deny it.

So… I continue daydreaming… wouldn’t it be great if I could login to work from exotic destinations around the world?

--

--

Liz Mary Stevens

Interested in how our online lives affect us IRL, personal growth, intersectional feminism, relationships, mental health, compassion and vulnerability.