Breaking My Design Bubble: Embracing Feedback and Growth

Thazin Win @ Breeze
3 min readJul 4, 2024

--

There was a time in my life when I thought I had it all figured out. Fresh out of school, I was brimming with confidence and ready to conquer the UIUX world. Every pixel I placed, every color I chose, every interaction I designed was, in my eyes, pure perfection. How could it not be? I had poured hours of thought and creativity into my work. It was flawless. Or so I thought.

Photo by Dr.Sourabh Panari on Unsplash

Then came the design critique sessions. Ah, those dreaded critique sessions! My palms would sweat, my heart would race, and my mind would prepare a robust defense strategy. I walked into each session like a warrior, armed with justifications and explanations for every single design decision I made. The room would be filled with well-meaning colleagues ready to offer feedback, but all I could hear was the echo of my own voice, tirelessly defending my “perfect” designs.

Listening? Pfft. Who had time to listen when there was so much explaining to do? I was convinced that if I just explained my ideas well enough, everyone would see the genius behind my designs. It was just a matter of making them understand, right? Wrong.

One particularly memorable critique session was a turning point. I had designed a sleek, modern interface that I was particularly proud of. I walked into the room with my usual swagger, ready to defend my masterpiece. The feedback started rolling in, but instead of listening, I found myself interrupting, explaining, and justifying. The room grew silent, and finally, a senior designer looked me in the eye and said,

“Thazin, we’re not here to attack your design. We’re here to make it better.”

That hit me like a ton of bricks. In my quest to prove my worth, I had completely missed the point of these sessions. They weren’t about me; they were about the user, the product, and making the best possible experience. I realized I didn’t know what I didn’t know, and that was okay. What wasn’t okay was my stubbornness and unwillingness to listen. As Socrates wisely said, “The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.”

Embracing Feedback

From that day on, I made a conscious effort to listen more and defend less. I started to embrace feedback, understanding that it was a gift rather than a personal attack. I learned that collaboration and humility are just as important as creativity and skill in the world of UIUX design. Ken Blanchard once said, “Feedback is the breakfast of champions,” and I began to truly understand the power of those words.

Books like “The Design of Everyday Things” by Don Norman and “Creative Confidence” by Tom Kelley and David Kelley further reinforced these lessons. They taught me the importance of user-centered design and the value of collaboration and feedback in the creative process.

Looking back, I can’t help but chuckle at my younger self. So convinced of my own perfection, so stubborn, and yet so eager to grow. It’s been a humbling journey, but one that has made me a better designer and a better person. And for that, I am grateful.

--

--