Apple’s VisionPro Could Be Wonderful or Maybe Not

An Apple User’s Perspective. Am I too late for the VisionPro Party?

The Everyday Solopreneur
6 min readJun 16, 2023
Apple Keynote VisionPro at Work
Apple Keynote VisionPro at Work

Unbalanced Media Reactions, Again

I am sure that some will think I’m either too late to write about Apple’s VisionPro, or just writing a clickbait article. The truth is, post the initial media reactions, I was curious if there would be a balance between the positive and negative reactions and whether both camps would be objective in their points of view.

Alas, it was not to be. In general, one side put a lot of effort into picking holes in the device, many of whose only headset experience was from the keynote presentation. Likewise, the positive side was, occasionally, over the top with praise despite, again, never having touched the device itself.

Most of the balanced articles were from journalists who were present at Apple Park and could play with the headset for 30 minutes. I remember the same reactions to the Apple Watch and, to a certain extent, the iPhone and iPad when they were first unveiled to the world.

Today both the Apple Watch and the iPad are market leaders, and for a good reason, they just ‘work’. The iPhone, of course, introduced the concept of the smartphone to the masses, and even though the smartphone sector is highly competitive, the iPhone is still amongst the top sellers every year.

The pervasive nature of the Apple ecosystem, together with the complete marriage of hardware and software, has shown what our technological future should be like.

Why the Apple Ecosystem

I know that I will be viewed as an Apple Fanboy, but I only like Apple products so much because I intensely detest configuring and troubleshooting. Spending hours trying merely to iron out compatibility issues between different suppliers and manufacturers reduces my productivity, increases stress, and gives me a headache just thinking about it.

I know the Apple ecosystem is imperfect, but it makes my life easier and eliminates unwanted and unneeded stress. Now other major hardware suppliers are trying to follow Apple’s lead. With its Galaxy Ecosystem, Samsung is the first, as far as I am aware. Sony also seems to be toying with the idea. But they are always subject to the whims of the software suppliers like Microsoft Windows and Google’s Open-source Android, for example. We can be sure there will be configuration and compatibility issues at some point, likely at multiple points.

I know that, for example, setting up and configuring a modern Android phone is also relatively painless these days, but this was not always the case. Upon seeing the difficulties, many years ago now, I’ll admit, I decided I wanted nothing to do with it. Over the years, I’ve become increasingly immersed in several Apple platforms and never once have I regretted it.

To put things into perspective, I’m also a heavy user of Windows computers for my day job. The problems I used to have with Windows are, by and large, long gone. There are still the occasional gotcha’s but, fortunately, few and far between.

Apple’s Vision Pro platform could change everything

I won’t go into everything the media covers; that seems like flogging a dead horse. Their coverage, subject to limitations enforced by Apple, is more than I could hope to or want to write about. Plenty of articles and posts can be easily found using any search covering the ins and outs of the VisionPro announcement.

What we have to understand is that this is a first-generation device and, as such, is on the expensive side. Even with the high price tag, I doubt Apple will profit much from unit sales. Certainly not enough to cover research and development costs over the last few years. As with other first-generation devices, it is pitched for possible uses envisioned by Apple, which will almost inevitably be missing the key or killer application. After all, when the iPad was released, it was pitched as an internet device and an E-reader. Today streaming video consumption is one of the top uses for the iPad, but Steve Jobs never mentioned this at the time of its release.

Watching the live presentation was jaw-dropping if it did only what was presented and nothing more. I can see myself using such a device for creative work easily; imagine having all your resources and research arranged around you simultaneously. No more tab or desktop switching. As impressive as it was, though, the proof of the pudding will be in the eating. And at that price, I’ll have to wait quite a while before it becomes more affordable and another two or three generations down the road.

ChatGPT-4 also has a take on VisionPro

I asked GPT-4 to give me an insight into the key technological advances that have led to VisionPro. Here is the response:

The Apple Vision Pro is a mixed-reality headset, marking a significant leap in technology by offering an immersive combination of Augmented Reality (AR) and Virtual Reality (VR) experiences. Users can switch between AR and VR modes using a dial on the device. One of the key advancements in this headset is its high-resolution display, providing each eye with a 4K display, which amounts to 23 million pixels across both panels.

The Vision Pro’s advanced sensor array includes 12 cameras and five sensors for tracking hand and eye movements, eliminating the need for external controllers. To manage the significant data from these sensors and provide a smooth visual experience, the device combines the power of Apple’s M2 chip with a new chip called the R1. The combination enables real-time processing and aims to eliminate the latency issues that have affected similar devices.

A significant innovation in the Vision Pro is its control system, which relies entirely on the user’s eye movements, hand gestures, and voice commands. This controller-free operation is supported by a new operating system, VisionOS, designed to meet an AR headset’s low-latency requirements.

In collaboration with lens manufacturer Zeiss, Apple has created custom optical inserts for the Vision Pro. These magnetic inserts support a range of vision correction strengths without compromising the display quality or the headset’s eye-tracking performance.

Further enhancing its versatility, the Vision Pro supports Bluetooth accessories, including Magic Keyboard and Magic Trackpad, and allows users to connect their Mac for use inside the headset. It is also compatible with hundreds of thousands of familiar iPhone and iPad apps.

Overall, the Apple Vision Pro headset is a bold and innovative step into the future of mixed-reality experiences, leveraging cutting-edge technology to provide users with an immersive, high-quality, and user-friendly device.

Not a bad answer after tidying up with Grammarly, but not exactly what I was asking for; what do you think?

Final Thoughts

I was going to have a rant about the terrible media coverage in the days following Apple’s Keynote, but I just wanted things to settle in my mind before writing some garbage I’d quickly regret. I know the media has a job to do, and negativity can play a significant role in the success or failure of a piece. But come on, boys and girls, why does it sometimes have to be so over the top?

Likewise, the gushing praise for the headset, let’s wait and see, shall we?

See more articles, posts, and discussions about business, project management and the role of human nature here. If you have not already, subscribe to Medium, you won’t regret it. Don’t forget to subscribe and follow me. 👍

KodifyIT B.V. is an advisory bureau targeting businesses that have either been on the receiving end of a failed project or are aware of the potential pitfalls and wish to mitigate as much risk as possible while developing a project’s client requirements. We aim to side-step any issues before they cost time and money.

Disclosure. I use Generative AI tools to help me when writing. From outline suggestions to topics or subtleties I had yet to think of.

I apologise to my readers for some of the spellings you may feel are incorrect. I was born and brought up in the United Kingdom, and this is the spelling I am comfortable with (Grammarly is happy with it anyway).

--

--

The Everyday Solopreneur

Successes and failures of building a successful business after spending a lifetime as a salaried employee. The change in mindset is surprisingly tricky.