Lusting over Astarion from Baulder’s Gate 3?

What this likely says about you

Jessica Karels (The Mystic Geek)
3 min readAug 21, 2023
Credit: Larian Studios

I’m in awe of the data nerds at Larian Studios who sifted through gameplay information from Baulder’s Gate 3’s opening weekend. Here’s an amusing stat that caught my attention:

Credit: Larian Studios

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to play BG3 during opening weekend because my gaming computer was undergoing repairs. However, as soon as I got the game I found myself among those who were first “Team Astarion”, and subsequently, “Team Rejected by Astarion”.

After accidentally getting Gale’s attention in one campaign, and then getting Lae’zel’s attention in another campaign, I’m approaching my current playthrough with calculation and precision. Whenever I’m in a hero mood, Astarion gets sent to the party’s camp.

I get the appeal of trying to go for the romance plot with this evil character.

Sure — he tries to trick you and pulls a knife on you during your first interaction.

And yes, he initially hides his vampiric nature and feigns ignorance when your group stumbles upon the boar he exsanguinated.

--

--

Jessica Karels (The Mystic Geek)

I guide those who feel stuck to learn how to handle whatever life throws at them in love, work, etc. Opinionated tech witch. themysticgeek.com/social