The Hidden Gems of the Internet: Xanga to Youtube Bloggers — A Forgotten Dynasty

Jay Carlson
13 min readMar 16, 2024
Image Wikipedia

Gather around my children, while I tell you an old forgotten tale. From a wonderful place on the internet that existed long ago, it was when the internet was young and beautiful, there was never anything like it and there will never be anything like it again. My hope, with this story is share with you some magic of the past and bring some lessons I’ve learned as we transcend into the digital future. I hope this will serve as a guide or a compass for navigating your dreams and mental health, there is a lot to be learned from the earlier stages of the internet and being around during this time has personally help me navigate the muddy climate of the digital age today.

My hope, with this story is share with you some magic of the past and bring some lessons I’ve learned as we transcend into the digital future. I hope this will serve as a guide or a compass for navigating your dreams.

Long ago, small communities would gather together harmoniously, share stories and support each other. Not everyone was on the internet then. It was a small place in the early 2000s. However the reason why this particular part of the internet was special was how…

--

--

Jay Carlson

Exploring humanity's interaction with technology, impact on mental health, social internet trends under the lens of healthcare and engineering.