Travel: Kansas City, Missouri

Have You Been to Kansas City?

The Yard
6 min readFeb 23, 2024

Travel Writing by Chris Bunton

We traveled to Kansas City, Missouri, where I researched the Serial Killer Robert Berdella, The Kansas City Massacre. The Liberty Bank Robbery, and wrote the short story “Stranger In The Camp

As a crime magazine, our focus in this is crime and safety when traveling, while still having a good time.

I would just like to say that Kansas City is a phenomenal place. We ate Bar-b-que, and saw tons of history and sites. We really enjoyed Liberty and Independence MO. With Jesse James, Harry Truman and other history.

As I’ve said before, my wife is an expert at finding great places to stay. And safety is a must for me. I would never forgive myself if something happened to her.

And once again, she found a great house online in a wonderful neighborhood. BUT… we are 90% sure this place was haunted.

As far as crime is concerned, we felt safe everywhere in Kansas City except for the park where the Scout statue was.

--

--

The Yard

We are an online magazine of Crime Fiction, True Crime and Horror. Submit your story. We can be found at The Yard: Crime Blog. https://theyardcrimeblog.com/