What I learned from building a SaaS product in 1 week

Mitch Edwards
3 min readMay 6, 2022

This story was originally published here on my blog. Be sure to give me a follow on Twitter to know when I post something new!

Phew, this one’s going to be a long one, so I’m going to post a TL;DR for those of you without the time that I have to write this.

TL;DR

Failure is often a forced conscripted binary that we place on ourselves or our situations to constrain the possible outcomes or identities therein to be either a failure or a success in their entirety. I failed the One Week SaaS challenge that I set out for myself in the sense that I am not going to be launching my product tomorrow. I succeeded, though, in many more, far more important ways. I learned, I became uncomfortable in a multitude of productive ways and I specifically learned about tech stacks I’ve never used before.

Still here? Good. Let’s chat about the One Week SaaS Challenge.

First off…

I’m currently editing a longer-form, off-the-cuff vlog style video on my YouTube channel so if you want a closer look on how the week went, definitely check it out there. It should be getting released tomorrow.

If you’re not familiar, the One Week SaaS Challenge is something I started last Friday to challenge myself to plan, design…

--

--

Mitch Edwards

Cyber Threat Intelligence Analyst, primarily focused on Chinese cyber crime and APT activity. GitHub: https://github.com/vikingSec