The Freelance Writer/Salesperson/PhD Student/Blogger Wannabe

Raquel Santos
2 min readDec 19, 2021

--

An electronic sign on the beach front letting people know that due to the good weather and social-distancing, during lockdown, the beach is too busy.
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

It’s hard waking up each morning, trying to figure out what I should do with the time I have left, after leaving my part-time job at the store. Should I write a quick piece for a client, research for a cool new blog piece, summarize my classes?

Sometimes I want to do it all. Sometimes I don’t want to do anything at all.

Sometimes I plan an entire day and stick to that plan: I go to work (either 4 hours in the morning or 4 hours in the evening), I make article outlines, I finish client pieces, I make invoices, I do research, I take courses, I pay attention to my Ph.D. classes, I do it all.

I can have really successful weeks if a manage to stick to the plan.

Sometimes I don’t stick to it: I still go to work at the store (obviously), but then I ignore my planner, sit on my ass, watch TV, binge eat, play on my phone, leave work undone until I really need to do it, don’t pay much attention in class, and overall feel shitty for a few days.

It’s not easy wanting to be a go-getter and then having to deal with the lack of motivation to… well, go get it! But it happens, and it sucks, and I’m struggling to find a way to deal with it in a healthy/more productive way.
Sometimes I wish some days could have more hours. Sometimes I wish I could skip some days ahead.

Is that okay?

--

--