Does Practicing Gratitude Mean You’re Ignoring Improvement?

The Nerds
2 min readMar 25, 2024

--

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Have you wondered if gratitude can make you neglect the areas for your improvement?

What I feel is yes, it can….

I can prove myself, but for that you need to answer me:

What do you do when you practice gratitude?

You look for the positive things, right? You look for things that went well, right?

In return, you become more positive and confident.

But, improvement lies in things where things went wrong? And, improving upon those things.

So, practicing gratitude can make you see the positive things in all the negative situations, but it may not allow you to see where you went wrong.

That’s why you may never improve, because you never acknowledged it.

This is the reason you should not just ask yourself:

What went well today?

You should also ask yourself:

What didn’t went well today? How can I improve?

You should acknowledge both these things and view things which went wrong as an opportunity for growth rather than negatively seeing it as a failure.

--

--

The Nerds

Hi, I'm a nerd. I'm passionate about self-improvement, tackling topper insecurities, and sharing my love for books.