TATTOO DISCRIMINATION IN THE PHILIPPINES

The UN Times
2 min readMay 4, 2024

--

In the Philippines, having tattoos is perceived as a sin in the eyes of many, most especially with the elders. Some universities and even several workplaces will not accept people with tattoos and until now, I can’t comprehend why others can judge someone based on their physical appearance. In the United States , it is not a big deal when it comes to getting inked, and I cannot fully comprehend the fact that other countries are much progressive compared to the Philippines yet the standard here is too much and unacceptable.

This issue is too personal for me because I appreciate the art of tattoos. To be frank, I do have many tattoos and this worries me in ways that “what if after I graduated, many companies will turn me down just because I chose to put art on my skin?” I can’t blame Filipinos if they chose to leave the country for work because discrimination is rather prevalent here in our country. One example of personality with tattoos is Mikee Reyes, a sports reporter. He became an example that he can be good at what he does, even with tattoos.

We just want to express ourselves in the way of having tattoos. I am not losing my hope that someday people will not look down on people with tattoos and start to understand what the true meaning is behind this art. There is a saying that goes, “Don’t judge the book by its cover”, and I truly believe this because people with tattoos can be the nicest people you will ever meet in your life. We just put ink on our skins but nothing changes within our personality. Tattoo is merely an ink that signifies art, not the way and indicator of life.

Written By: John Patrick Carpio | Y2K

--

--