What is a marriage in Hinduism?

According to the Purusharthas (four aims of life — Dharma — duty, Artha — prosperity/security, Kama — pleasure/enjoyment, Moksha — liberation) are the means to achieve a meaningful life. The word purusha means human being, soul, and ‘artha’ means not only wealth but also purpose/objective. The Purushshartas revolve around Varnashrama (4 stages of human life). These four stages are:

Brahmacharya: student phase of life

Grihastha: married phase of life and duties of a family member

Vanaprastha: retirement phase, handing over responsibilities to future generations

Sanyasa: phase of giving up material desires

Thus, marriage is…

The American Hindu

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store