101 things you need to know about POSTER PAINTS!!

Theartisticpointofview
4 min readJul 29, 2021

--

I’m sure that you guys have been excited to know about POSTER PAINTS. The following will help you to get to know about this medium in different perspective:

Hello my budding artists out there I’m PARKAVI PRIADHARSHINI PARTHIBAN running an Instagram art page @theartisticpointofview for more than a year. Here I’m writing my first blog quite nervous. cheer me 😁

https://www.instagram.com/theartisticpointofview/

FEEL FREE TO CHECK OUT :)

What is poster paints ?

Poster paints are the cheapest paints of all. So people out there think them as they can be used only by kids. But they are totally wrong. Poster paints are main medium for every artist to start with…..

For me when I was young I was’nt able to figure out what I’m capable of, later I discovered my self that I was interested in art. Then my friends gifted me camlin poster paints for my b’day ,form there I started my art i.e. passion.

finally’ 😍 this leads to the

101 things you need to know about poster paints

  1. POSTER PAINTS can be replaced for gouache paint:

YES! you heard it right. Since gouache are on pricer side you can give poster paints a try. {what is gouache paint? basically they are acrylic paints with higher pigment & runny consistent}.

2. POSTER PAINTS can easily turned out be watercolors:

Watercolors can be activated with water , same way you can use poster paints by adding water.

3. POSTER PAINTS cannot be used for display:

You can use poster paints for practice or you can work with your sketchbook. Since these paints are generally made up of less quality pigments.

4.Use good quality paper to work with poster paints:

Since you are using low cost paint you can spend little extra on good quality paper. They will be nearly 400INR ( for 20 pages)

5. Use separate brushes for poster paints:

That is because these pains are not made of artist grades so definitely the quality of the paint will be low.

If you are using good quality brushes then the paint stain remain in the brushes which is hard to clean. You really have to wash it for like multiple Times. Instead of that you can keep 2-5 process dedicated for ( PS: I m talking out of my personal experience)

BONUS TIPS:)

  • Buy white poster paints separately (120 ML) so that you could create different shades of colors.
  • Use glass( from old photo frames) or paper plates or ceramic plate as palette.
  • Keep tissue or cloth hanky when you are painting so that if there is any mess it will be helpful.
  • Instead of tissue use a waste cloth so that it will reduce the wastage of tissue #savemotherearth.

Here I am going to to share my top pick art supplies for poster medium if you wanna to give a try then look at the following

PAPER:

https://www.amazon.in/Brustro-Artists-Watercolour-Pressed-Contains/dp/B01GBSW23M/ref=sr_1_4?crid=3IBB6ZLZKST26&dchild=1&keywords=300gsm+watercolor+paper&qid=1627565067&sprefix=300gsm+%2Caps%2C320&sr=8-4

POSTER PAINT:

https://www.amazon.in/Doms-Poster-Colour-12-colour/dp/B07BDMP7TG/ref=sr_1_2?crid=C566LPFC6VQU&dchild=1&keywords=doms+poster+colours&qid=1627565033&sprefix=doms+%2Caps%2C321&sr=8-2

PAINT BRUSH:

https://www.amazon.in/Camlin-Kokuyo-Paint-Brush-Synthetic/dp/B07NTQR8NV/ref=sr_1_10?crid=13BDUTZV158T3&dchild=1&keywords=round+and+flat+paint+brush+set&qid=1627564999&sprefix=round+and+flat+%2Caps%2C316&sr=8-10

MAKING TAPE:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.amazon.in/Masking-Tape/b%3Fie%3DUTF8%26node%3D3591663031&ved=2ahUKEwib9NnCu4jyAhXs8HMBHXhiDFMQjjgwG3oECCoQAg&usg=AOvVaw1HkGsI4LJ9DLvBRnguZIB1

PALLETE:

https://www.amazon.in/Eascan-Art-Colour-Mixing-Palette/dp/B07GSR6W5T/ref=sr_1_4?crid=1492OT3FCPI6X&dchild=1&keywords=pallet+for+painting&qid=1627564912&sprefix=pall%2Caps%2C314&sr=8-4

OTHER THINGS:

cup for water & waste cloth/tissue

I hope the above things I will certainly change your thought of poster paints. So for what what you are waiting for grab your poster paints and start creating art

If this above article is helpful then let me know in my Instagram handle @theartisticpointofview

love to see you guys there😍

https://www.instagram.com/theartisticpointofview/

Cheers 😘

--

--