Anti-trans is Anti-intellectual

Thea Barnes
1 min readApr 4, 2017

--

“I don’t care if my opinion offends people when my opinion is based in reality.”

I see that claim far too often, usually from people who are using “reality” as code for “nothing I haven’t​ personally experienced.” Usually when they’re saying something in direct opposition to what all scientific evidence suggests. Always as justification for remaining ignorant.

Transgender people have existed since at least the beginnings of recorded history. The terminology may have changed, but the facts haven’t. Scientists are still figuring out exactly how it happens, but the fact that it exists is no more “opinion” or “up for debate” than evolution or gravity.

Simply put, “transgender is a mental illness” is the new “evolution is just a theory.” It’s just pseudo-science to support bigotry and avoid learning.

--

--