QuickFireTheatre Interview: Zoe Hunter

Alasdair Hunter
2 min readJul 20, 2017

--

Today’s #quickfiretheatre interview is with Zoe Hunter!

How would you describe what you do?
I am a theatre maker and a performer (in various forms). I perform with other artists /companies in their shows, I have made my own work or work with my theatre company in the past (less so recently). More of a gun for hire right now. I’m an actress but I have made dance pieces, done lots of voice over work (even for video games even though I’ve never played anything other than Frogger) and I work quite a bit as a puppeteer. Basically I don’t really know what I am.

What theatre inspires you the most?
Without wanting to sound like a cliche… things that move me and push my emotional buttons. But I’ll let you into a wee secret, for that to happen you normally will have had to get me laughing before you can get me crying. I love big spectacle stuff but one of my favourite performers is a drag act called Taylor Mac. It’s just him, his uke, his fabulous costumes and his songs and chat. He is wonderful!! He makes me laugh and cry, sometimes simultaneously.

What is your dream role/project?
I’ve had a few crackin parts in my time. I loved playing the powerful Whiplash Mary, (care home worked by day and professional wrestler by night). It was a great show (Lardo) and we got lots of nominations and a mini cult following. I’d love to be given the opportunity to play a Meaty role like that with a really big company or on screen while I’m still young enough and fit enough to do it.

And I’d like to do a gender swap piece. I think I’d definitely give Lear a pretty good shot.

What’s your favourite play?
I can’t pick one
I adore Death of A Salesman
I loved David Tennant in The Pillowman at the National but my favourite ‘show’ of all time was Far Side of the Moon ( Robert Le Page)

What’s the best advice you’ve ever been given?
Don’t try to have a ‘career’ and a life, in this industry things are too unpredictable. Have a life and it’s all part of it.

What advice would you give to someone starting out?
Have a back up plan and be as honest with yourself as you can be about whether you’ve got what it takes. And try to avoid being bitter about knock backs, there will always be knock backs.

What are you up to next?
I’ve just finished a big gig so I’m on me holidays right now. Waiting to hear about an exciting wee gig so won’t say incase I jinx it.

--

--