Meet the Team | Logan Steinberg

The Bee Token
3 min readAug 14, 2018

--

We’re excited to welcome our new Marketing Coordinator Logan to the Bee Team. Here Logan introduces himself and shares his evolution from “moon-chaser” to blockchain advocate.

Like many, my foray into cryptocurrency and blockchain began as a personal mission to reach “the moon”. Enticed by illusions of “lambos” and “rocket ships”, I strapped on my moon boots and took to Reddit threads in search of the singular insight that would make me the next crypto-millionaire. Alas, I never found the money-making nugget that I sought — but the information I found instead proved to be much more compelling.

While combing through various message boards and AMAs, a few words kept coming up: decentralized, immutable, distributed ledger. As I dove deeper into these (and other) terms, I saw past the rapid growth and began to understand the reasons why digital currency, tokenization and blockchain are such attractive alternatives to the current value-exchange systems of today. As my understanding grew (and my trading portfolio shrank) I realized that I wanted desperately to learn more about this technology, and to get my hands dirty in a real-world crypto project.

I pursued an internship at the first crypto startup that I came across, a video-streaming platform that encourages philanthropy through tokenization. I performed various research-related tasks for this project, bolstering my crypto and blockchain knowledge — but wanted a larger role to sink my teeth into. Enter: Bee Token, the team building a home-sharing platform on the blockchain, with its own token and innovative protocols.

The home-sharing industry seemed like an industry that stood to benefit a lot from decentralization and the Bee Team’s unique ideas around tokenomics, as well as their readiness for growth and expansion, made joining an easy decision. As a Marketing Coordinator, I’ll be helping the team educate people through various channels about the advantages that decentralization can bring to the sharing economy. This initiative is near and dear to me, as I’m in the process of expanding my own understanding of blockchain and crypto use cases.

My first few weeks at Bee Token have flown by, and it’s not easy to offer advice when you feel as though you’re only at the tip of the iceberg. So my budding advice is something that I’m currently trying to live out: fully dive in. Doing so may open opportunities that you hadn’t seen coming. For me, a surface-level interest in crypto markets has transformed into an exploration of blockchain technology that has influenced my professional career path. Cryptocurrency is a volatile industry, it requires a level of flexibility and adaptability in order to persevere. If you immerse yourself in whatever experiences come your way, the doors that open may surprise you.

Graph the value of my crypto market portfolio over time, and you’ll find the trendline at a steady downward slope. However, if a similar graph is constructed tracking my passion and excitement for blockchain technology over the same time, you’ll find it sloping upwards and growing exponentially. I chalk this trend up to a pivot in thinking: my new perspective on this tech has put my “moon” dreams on hold. Formerly convinced that crypto served as a vehicle to make a quick buck, I have now come to believe that blockchain and cryptocurrencies will fundamentally change how society exchanges value.

-Logan Steinberg

--

--

The Bee Token

Vacation Rentals on Blockchain — Join the conversation on Telegram: https://t.me/beetoken