How South Park Changed the Way I Go to the Bathroom

LGWare, The Black Lens
2 min readMar 29, 2023
SouthPark by Vlover85 on Flickr

South Park is probably one of the most controversial shows still on television. Despite not always agreeing with how the topics are handled, I still love the show. The show has been with me almost my entire life, and I never get tired of it despite my growth as a person.

I’m often left thinking after watching an episode, but I’ve never had an episode completely change my lifestyle. South Park season 26, episode 3: Japanese Toilets accomplished this.

In the episode, Randy Marsh discovers the wonders of Japanese toilets. He accidentally unravels a conspiracy to keep toilet tissue companies in power. According to Randy, and later my research, only 30 percent of the world uses toilet tissue. This was a paradigm shift for me.

Not only does toilet tissue not…clean up the mess completely, it destroys millions of trees. Randy even goes into detail about the different types of toilets, pointing out cheaper options and bidets.

In the end, Randy is shot by a mysterious figure, probably the toilet paper companies, and decides to stay silent to keep himself and his family safe.

I immediately began researching bidets and I eventually made the purchase. As someone that was a little intimidated by the water pressure, I am happy with the purchase. There are so many options, some of them very cheap. If nothing else, I encourage people to look into it. It saves money on toilet paper, it helps the environment, and you are just a bit cleaner.

Yes, South Park is a random cartoon sometimes filled with fart jokes, but in this case, it completely changed my lifestyle.

--

--

LGWare, The Black Lens

Educator, Horror fanatic, black nerd, writes about horror, education, and masculinity through a black lens. Hoping to spark real conversation. Top Writer