How To Get Paid To Speak Around The World

Brian Tracy
4 min readMar 7, 2018

--

This post was originally published on briantracy.com

Public speaking is the most effective way to share your ideas with the world. It takes confidence, passion, and authenticity to share a message that influences and resonates with an audience.

How does one attract eager audiences around the world?

It starts with the commitment to make as many speaking engagements as you possibly can. Get your name out there.

In addition, I have compiled a few other tips to work your way to an international speaking career with paid gigs around the world.

Become Knowledgeable In One Specific Subject

I have spoken in over 70 countries around the world in the last 30 years. I have been translated by about 50 different professional interpreters. Because of all that, I have been titled the most prolific speaker in the history of the world.

When I started off in the first 10–15 years, I was focused in North America.

The first thing you want to do is start where you are.

Pick a subject that you really care about and that you think is important for people to know about. Become very knowledgeable in that subject.

Then, begin to offer speeches or small workshops to people within your circle, and at no charge.

Build Up Your Experience And Credibility

In my early beginnings, I would often ask if I could speak for free or at minimum cost to get experience and credibility. Sometimes if people don’t know you or your reputation, you have to start from the bottom and work your way up.

There is a basic rule that says, “Before you get paid for speaking, you have to give 300 free talks.

It may actually take you 100 or 500. But the point is, keep offering free talks until somebody comes up and asks, “How much would you charge to give that talk to my people or my company?

Professional motivational speakers have one central focus: We’re always thinking in terms of how to get more speaking engagements.

Focus On One Country Outside Of The U.S.

Once I established myself in North America, I made a bridge to Germany. It was the starting point to my speaking internationally.

That brings me to my next point — put your stake in the ground of a country outside of the U.S. to kick off your international speaking career.

The most powerful word in getting speaking engagements is “Ask.

Always Ask For Opportunities

The future belongs to people who confidently ask for what they want. Especially those that ask to speak to an international company or organization.

You can call them up and explain that you specialize in a subject and that you’d love to speak to their organization.

Ask them for the opportunity. Ask them for more information. Ask them if they use speakers and when they will be using a speaker again.

The more you ask, the more answers you get. And eventually, the more you will get asked to speak for them.

Learn The Language

Next, you should learn their language.

After my first few gigs in Germany, I immediately started taking German classes and tutoring. It was an opportunity to develop a tremendous business around my seminars, programs, and books.

Not surprisingly, I ended up booking 5–15 talks every year in Germany. Today, I can speak almost fluent German.

Pick A Country That Is A Global Epicenter

Make sure you pick a country that is a global epicenter.

Germany is an epicenter in Europe. This means people from other countries would travel to see my speaking engagements.

Due to my success in Germany, I began speaking in Poland, Switzerland, Austria, Romania, and Czechoslovakia. Then through all of Serbia, then Italy, and people began to book me into the Middle East and Nordic countries.

Get To Know Your Audience

85% or more of all speakers are hired because someone else recommended them.

Someone who heard them speak said, “This is a great speaker.” The more people who say that you did a great job when you spoke somewhere else, the faster and easier it is for them to hire you.

For this reason, be sure to stay around after you’ve given a speech or talk to network with your audience.

Offer to speak again to others, maybe even on different subjects.

It’s amazing how much business comes when you stay around, have a drink, and talk to people. You are more likely to have people ask for you to come and speak to their organization.

Start Today

That’s it! That is how to get paid to speak around the world. Remember to always ask; for opportunities, for information, or for recommendations. One good recommendation can jumpstart your international speaking career.

For a more in-depth guide to the speaking industry, checkout my Ultimate List of Public Speaking Tips.

“The reason why successful people are successful in speaking is because they have a burning message that they want to share, that people can really benefit from.”

Do you have a burning message to share with others, but you aren’t sure how to get speaking gigs, or get your name out there?

Download my FREE ebook, 8 Tips to Get Your Name Out There as a Speaker.

--

--

Brian Tracy

Hi, I’m Brian Tracy. Author, Speaker, Entrepreneur, and Success Expert