How do you get successful in Zazzle?

Five Mistakes I Made While Trying to Sell on Zazzle

make more sales on zazzle store

Greece Aberdeen
5 min readFeb 9, 2024
Photo by Fiona Murray on Unsplash

So ready for more zazzle tips?

I have been on Zazzle for a very long time. I started with Redbuble but after seeing reviews of a few Zazzle shop owners, I decided to give it a try. I am here to share some of the valuable lessons of mistakes I learned during my Zazzle journey.

When I started my Zazzle store for the very first time I didn’t know what to expect. It was quite different compared to Redbubble. I have stores on other POD platforms as well but these two will remain my favourites.

I don’t consider Zazzle to be similar to other sites. Other POD sites have limitations when it comes to personalization as well number of ways that we can make money on it.

I hope you know there are 9 ways to make money on Zazzle. if not, not to worry my next article will be on the same. But for today’s let me share with you the mistakes I made during my Zazzle journey. Not much but these few matters a lot!

One of the biggest mistakes many Zazzlers make is their enthusiasm for diving into oversaturated product niches. They do this based on the logic that “this sells well, so I’ll do this too”

screenshot from zazzle.com

Mistake #1: Not Using Keywords Correctly

screenshot by author

Most of my income comes from SEO. Sadly there is no tool available.

I use only these ones right now —

  1. Zazzle search bar
  2. My competitors
  3. Google trends
  4. Pinterest (yup, you read it right!)

I do promote my work heavily on Instagram. But one thing I have realized is that doing SEO or I can say optimizng my lists makes me sale much easier compared to marketing on Instagram.

Truth to be told!

Mistake #2: Not Adjusting My Design Properly for Each Product

screenshot from zazzle.com

On my Redbubble stores, I hardly set my designs. I just upload and forget about it for days or even for months.

But with Zazzle, that’s the opposite. I do have to adjust my designs with the product surface. It does take time because I find the uploading process to be slow and rather boring. But once you get it right, it becomes easier for people to convert and buy your stuff.

So I now make sure that I give enough time to align my designs with the products as well.

Mistake #3: Going Too Broad and Ignoring Niches

screenshot from zazzle.com

I think I have already mentioned this in my other articles.

With POD, I never went with niches. I completely ignored it. And would upload anything random.

The results?

I made only a few sales in my first year. Too bad. wish someone has told me about niches before.

I now advice everyone to go for small or I can say micro-niches. You’ll make more money there! :)

Mistake #4: Not Using Social Media to Promote Products

screenshot from zazzle.com

I pay first attention to SEO. After that, I started promoting my Zazzle (as well as Redbubble stores) on Instagram and Pinterest.

Remember this is not the only place you can promote your work. You can promote them on Facebook groups as well but thats something I haven’t tried yet! Instagram works best for me.

Mistake #5: Sticking To Just One Print-on-Demand Site

screenshot from zazzle.com

I started with Redbubble first. I think instead of starting more Redbubble stores I should have started my Zazzle store much easier. I actually didn’t know about Zazzle at that time.

There are many POD stores where you can promote your designs —

  1. Redbubble
  2. Zazzle
  3. Displate
  4. CafePress
  5. Society6
  6. Fine Art America and so on.

A Few Other Tips

If you are into the POD business then you will find this very useful

  • Quality over quantity: I pay more attention to quality because people buy multiple products in one order.
  • Evergreen niches matter: I do trendy designs as well but that’s only 10% now. Others are mostly evergreen so this way I make money all the year around.
  • Pricing strategy is crucial: The more the costlier, the more energy you need to put into promoting it. I started with 5% and recommend you to do the same.
  • Embracing feedback: I have faced a few times where customers really didn’t liked my designs and thats completely fine. With time I know I’ll become better. Period.
  • Diversification is key: I am into affiliate marketing business as well! :)

My final thoughts

I think I have covered everything you need!

Zazzle is not a shortcut way to make money in the POD world. Redbubble took me 6 months to make my first sale. And so for Zazzle as well.

I’ll come back to share more of my Zazzle journbey with you guys!

happy designing!

Zazzle FAQs

What is Zazzle?

Zazzle is a print-on-demand store where people can buy products for different occasions. Creators can create designs and Zazzle makes those designs available on different products (1000+). One thing I like about Zazzle is that they do all the hard work for me!

What is the minimum commission on Zazzle?

Mine is set to 15% now. You can change this if you want.

Are there fees associated with Zazzle Associate Program?

Nope. I started this recently. And there is no fee for that!

Is Zazzle trustworthy?

Its been three years since I am doing this :)

Is Zazzle free to use?

Yes. It’s completely free to use.

--

--