The Haunted Doll

The doll blinked, its eyes following my every move in the dark. I froze, a chill running down my spine. This couldn’t be real. Dolls don’t move on their own, do they?

“Hello?” I called out tentatively, my voice barely above a whisper. “Is someone there?”

Silence. The old Victorian doll sat motionless on the dusty shelf, its porcelain face seeming to mock me.

With a shaky hand, I reached for the doll, meaning to examine it more closely. But as my fingers grazed its tattered dress, its head slowly turned to face me, the glass eyes glinting.

“Who are you?” a childlike voice seemed to emanate from the doll’s parted lips.

I stumbled back, knocking over a pile of books with a crash that shattered the eerie quiet. “This… this can’t be happening!”

The doll’s head lolled back, and it began rocking back and forth, giggling. “Oh, but it is, my dear. It most certainly is.”

My heart pounded in my ears as I edged towards the door, determined to get as far away from this accursed place as possible. But the doll slid off the shelf, landing on the floor with a thud that made me jump.

“You can’t leave,” it said petulantly. “No one ever leaves…”

As if of its own accord, it began scuttling across the floorboards towards me, its arms outstretched. I wanted to run, to scream, but I seemed paralyzed by the unnatural sight.

“W-what do you want from me?” I stammered as it drew closer.

The doll paused, those soulless eyes boring into me. “The better question is… what do YOU want?”

I shook my head frantically. This was madness!

“Everyone who enters this house desires something,” the doll continued in that soft, girlish tone that chilled me to the core. “Wealth, power, revenge… I can give you whatever your heart desires. But there’s always… a price.”

I edged backwards, fumbling behind me for the doorknob. “I don’t want anything from you… whatever you are. Just let me go!”

The doll tilted its head unnaturally far to the side. “But you’ll never find peace until you confront your deepest cravings. I can smell the fear… and the greed radiating from you.”

My back hit the door and I grasped the metal knob, ready to fling it open and escape this waking nightmare. But an invisible force seemed to hold it shut, no matter how desperately I pulled and twisted.

The doll began gliding across the floor again, its cracked porcelain face stretched in a malicious grin. “There’s no use fighting it. This house, this force, it knows what festers in the blackest pits of your soul. And it won’t release you until you embrace it.”

Trapped, I sank to the floor, squeezing my eyes shut as the doll loomed before me, its very presence creeping into my mind like insidious poisonous tendrils.

“Look at me!” it commanded, that childish lisp dripping with malign power.

Against my will, my eyes snapped open, and I found myself paralyzed, ensnared in its glass gaze like a insect in amber. Visions began flooding over me — disturbing images fueled by my own darkest ids and guilty ambitions.

I saw wealth beyond imagination, mountains of gold and jewels to sate my every materialistic whim. But they were surrounded by twisted, emaciated human wraiths, sacrificed on the twin altars of greed and obsession.

Next came visions of ultimate power, of ruling over nations with an iron fist, toppling empires with but a mere thought. Yet I also beheld the smoldering ruins that remained in the wake of such unchecked domination.

Finally, I witnessed vengeance — watching my enemies suffer unimaginable torments as I relished their anguished screams. But for each one brought low, a portion of my very soul seemed to wither and decay.

“No… no!” I howled, writhing against the unbreakable torrent of visions. What sorcery was this?

The doll’s painted lips parted in a pitiless smile. “You see it now — the true reflections of your inner darkness, the vile manifestations of your most selfish and vicious cravings.”

I shook my head over and over, tears streaming down my cheeks. “I don’t want this… I don’t want any of it!”

“Don’t you?” the doll hissed. “For within this house of truth and reckoning, nothing can be denied. What you’ve witnessed springs directly from the sewers of your being.”

My own warped reflection seemed to shimmer in the doll’s eyes, taunting me. I felt sick, violated at the very core of my identity. Had my basest impulses truly twisted me into… into that?

Just as I teetered on the brink of despair, clawing at my temples in a desperate attempt to block out the haunting visions, the doll suddenly recoiled. Its eyes went wide with what looked almost like fear.

“No… not you,” it muttered, sounding almost afraid. “You’re not supposed to be here!”

Suddenly, an unseen force snatched the doll off the ground and sent it hurtling back across the room. It struck the wall and crumpled to the floor, unmoving. The visions ceased as abruptly as they had begun.

I scrambled to my feet, gasping for breath, and ran to the door. To my shock, it was unlocked. I hurled it open and half-fell into the blessed night, never looking back.

Whatever dark forces dwelled within that house, whatever had animated that profane doll, I vowed never to let it breach the sanctuary of my soul again. The price, it seemed, was too terrible to pay…

--

--

Ismael S Rodriguez Jr (The Bulletproof Poet)

I learn, create, and overcome. I write, paint, blog, and practice grey witchcraft. I served in the Navy and have schizophrenia and PTSD.