Thecarrinashow
5 min readJul 29, 2021

Brenham, Texas: A Drink Lover’s Paradise

By Carrina D.

Let’s just say, there is no shortage of drink options in Brenham, Texas. Whether you are a coffee drinker, a tea drinker, mangonada drinker, beer, wine, or whiskey drinker, you will surely find something when you mosey your way on over to Brenham (and surrounding cities). I’ll give you a secret: the smaller towns surrounding Brenham have amazing places too! You will see these spots listed below. Fill up your gas tank and get ready to quench your thirst! (Don’t forget to drink water too).

Less talky, More Coffee

Let’s get started with the non-alcoholic beverages…

Iced Coffee

30 North Gastropub (above) has an amazing Iced White Chocolate Mocha with Almond Milk. Side note: they also have awesome food, including pizzas, wings, sandwiches and a bar area.

Independence Coffee Company (above) has a delicious Iced Carmel Macchiato. They also have a drive thru.

Neon Moon (Burton, Texas) has an amazing Hazelnut frappe (above left) and an iced caramel/ chocolate.

Moving onto the Brenham Tea Party

Tea time? No worries! I will tell you the best spot. Of course, most restaurants know how to whip up some good sweet tea (this is Texas, it would be a sin not to). However, the teas I mention are more like speciality teas.

The Tilted Windmill has an impressive variety of coffees and teas to choose from. Above (left) is Devon’s Heaven with an immunity booster. It isn’t Super sweet, which is perfect for those who are watching their sugar intake. The one on the right is a popular butterfly tea, I believe. If you decide to go, please show them this picture to make sure! They have so many teas, I honestly forgot what the name was. They also have amazing cookies and pastries. Bring your sweet tooth.

Mangonadas

If you haven’t tried a mangonada before, let me tell you, you are missing out. The only place I know where to get one in Brenham, Texas is Las Palmas. It is so delicious, every single time! Mangonadas have blended fresh mango, with some sweet chili syrup fora little extra spice. Sweet and spicy all in one drink.

Moving on to the Alcohol… 21 and over!

Okay… let me save you some time and money and tell you where to find the best drinks (depending on what you like).

When it is BEER thirty

I have a whole page I dedicate to supporting local businesses. (The Carrina Show) So, when I say I “support local,” I go as far as drinking beer from our local brewery, Brazos Valley Brewing Company. Their beers are good! Plenty of options.

I prefer “Mama Tried” it is so fitting, because this Mama sure does try, and after a long week, sometimes I treat myself to a cold one.

I’m Gonna Need Some Whiskey Glasses

I love me a good Jack and Coke, but this Kooper Family Whiskey is hard to beat! This distillery is NOT in Brenham, but it isn’t far. Take 290 West towards Austin and find Kooper Family Whiskey Co. in Ledbetter, Texas. Pay attention because if you blink, you miss the entire town.

Pictured above: Kooper Family Whiskey. I personally recommend Sweetheart of the Rodeo.

Wine, Wine and more Wine!

Let me start off by saying, I am not normally a big wine fan, so please don’t come for me if I didn’t list your favorite local winery. I do enjoy the environments of wineries: the open fields, the classy vibe etc. Still, I am super picky when it comes to wine. This is why I was actually shocked that I found wines I liked at Blissful Folly Farms.

The cranberry wine at Blissful Folly Farms is the best wine I have ever tasted in my life. Their bottle of Temperament is a close second! Blissful Folly Farms is located in La Grange, Texas. They have farm animals too, so wear some comfy shoes that way you can explore and show the chickens and goats some love!

Best Margaritas- Los Patrones (Burton, Texas)

Another short drive West! Come on y’all, it’s not too far. Totally worth it. I always get the mango flavor. Warning: these suckers are STRONG! Drink one too many and you might either start dancing on the table or picking a fight with someone. Kidding, but seriously… drink responsibly. Be sure to order food too. Their food is great!

Close runner up: Strawberry Jalapeno margarita from The Kenney Store (pictured below). Again, a 5 minute drive outside of Brenham. You won’t be disappointed. The Kenney Store also has amazing food, and live music on the weekends.

Best Daiquiri: Time to Chill Daiquiris To Go

I’ll be honest: I’ve only tried two daiquiris in my life, but this one was my favorite and it was delicious. This is another short drive to Bellville, Texas. It’s a pretty town, so definitely worth the trip.

That’s all I Got!

That’s all for my drink recommendations. I may have missed some locations, but I believe this is a great start. I am only one person, so I could have easily overlooked a good spot. If I did, kindly let me know and I might try it out. I love supporting small businesses and 100% prefer shopping, eating, and drinking at a locally owned business. It’s so much more personal. I am the way I am because I come from a family of small business owners. I am also a small business owner along with my husband.

For more info: follow @thecarrinashow On social media and check out my YouTube channel. Questions? Email: thecarrinashow@gmail.com

Adiós!

Thecarrinashow

Howdy! My name is Carrina and I am a small business owner and enthusiast. I have a passion for writing, creating videos, food and art.