5 Fat Loss Expert Quotes To Cure Your Dieting Anxiety

Raphael Tardif
4 min read2 days ago

--

Dieting is stressful.

I tried many diets and every time, it’s the same.

I’m overwhelmed by the things I can’t eat. Don’t even think about eating out with your friends.

I lost sleep over this. I ended up miserable and still fat.

So here are 5 quotes from Fat Loss experts to remind you that you’re not in the fourth quarter of the Superbowl. You’re allowed a few mistakes. Because you can still enjoy life and food, while losing fat.

Layne Norton

“Pick the restriction that feel the less restrictive to you”

Forget the flashy “I lost 50lbs in one month” videos. This isn’t reality. The nutrition plan you can stick to, the longest, is the best one for you.

If you can’t picture yourself spending the rest of your life on a Juice Diet, don’t even try it.

But if a “real food” diet suits you, you’ll never feel like missing out.

Dr Gabrielle Lyon

(About the fats to carbs ratio)

“If you’re focused on protein and calories, it doesn’t matter. As long as you avoid the extremes”

Gabrielle believes a calorie deficit, supported by an adequate protein intake, is all you need. Throughout all the different diets, if you equate the proteins and calories, they all give similar results.

But she states that the body needs fat and loves carbs. You need both to feel and perform at your best.

So, find your calorie deficit; eat a lot of protein and fill the rest of your calories with fats and carbs how you like.

Jason Ferruggia

“If you’re already stressed out or don’t sleep well, don’t do intermittent fasting”

I used intermittent fasting at 27 years old and got great results. When I tried it, a few years later, I had a very different experience. My job situation was complicated, and I was already stressed out.

After two weeks of fasting, I stopped sleeping. This added to my stress level, and I got worse, over the next weeks.

If this rings a bell, Jay recommends eating good carbs upon waking up (fruits, oatmeal, potatoes).

It’s important to note that, around 2010, Jay would put most of his client on intermittent fasting. So, he’s not saying it’s evil.

But NOTHING works for EVERYONE, all the time. Whatever you do, to lose weight, make sure you feel great doing it.

Mind Pump

“Don’t change anything unless you have 2 bad weeks in a row”

You know how it is; you try a diet, lose 3lbs the first week and feel unstoppable.

The next week, nothing.

PANNICK

“My diet’s not working, I gotta cut more carbs”

Chill. Fat loss is not linear. What if this week, you lost half a pound of fat and put on half a pound of muscle? Is it a bad week?

Take your time and make sure you have enough data, before changing anything to your diet.

The problem is “Fat Loss Gurus” on Instagram, are promising unrealistic results. You didn’t get fat in one month, did you? So why expect the weight to disappear so quickly?

Once a week, weigh yourself and measure your waistline

Every two weeks, take your BMI with a caliper.

If nothing changed after 3–4 weeks, you could make a change.

Dr Mike Israetel

“It’s ok to take short breaks to avoid diet fatigue”

Even I, when I heard this, felt relieved. I just lost 34lbs in 5–6 months of dieting and I never took a break.

Mike is not saying to overeat for two weeks between fat loss phases. Eat at maintenance so you don’t gain any fat.

This is good for your sanity, and to reset your metabolism. Losing fat is somewhat stressful.

Mike likes to use the “insurance” analogy. Fat is your body’s insurance against hard times. You must convince it that it’s ok to let go of some of that insurance.

You could go at this in two ways; time or pounds lost.

For example, diet for eight weeks, then spend two weeks at maintenance. I prefer to go with weight loss. Every time I lose 10lbs, I’ll take a two-week break.

I’ve been in a fat loss phase for half a year, and I still enjoy what I eat. I don’t feel like I’m missing out or suffering. When we go to the cinema, I still eat a large popcorn and finish my girlfriend’s.

You can find a way to build a healthy lifestyle that will make you happier than you were before.

--

--

Raphael Tardif

Ex-Party animal on a mission to lose 75 lbs. Then? I’ll be teaching men to do the same. Down 34 lbs.