I had DevOps interview at Google … Here are the questions and my experience.

Note: I didn’t make it past the second round in this interview😅

Deep -- Cloud / DevOps Engineer
4 min readAug 24, 2024

--

It took me a lot of time and effort to provide these detailed answers, and Medium doesn’t pay for technical articles like this. If you find these notes helpful, please support me!

👉 Click here to buy me a coffee, and don’t forget to follow me on Medium!

On a free Medium plan? Click here

Hey everyone! A few months back, I went through an interview process at Google for a Site Reliability Engineer (SRE) position. It was an intense experience — definitely not your typical DevOps interview. I wanted to share my experience, plus some additional questions that might help you if you’re preparing for a similar role.

The Interview Process

First things first, Google provided a PDF called the “Google Interview Prep Guide for Site Reliability Engineering.” It had all the areas to prepare for and some recommended reading.

But even with that prep guide, the interview was tough. The questions weren’t what I was used to in other DevOps roles. Some were areas I…

--

--

Deep -- Cloud / DevOps Engineer

DevOps Blogger | Mentor | Founder of rkssh.com | I write on Cloud, DevOps, SRE, AWS, AZURE, GCP, K8s, and CI/CD.