Type I & Type II error:: Common Questions

The Data Beast
2 min readApr 18, 2023

Here are some questions and answers about Type I error and Type II errors:

Q1: What is Type I error?

Type I error is the rejection of a true null hypothesis. It occurs when a statistical test incorrectly concludes that there is a significant difference between groups, when in fact there is no real difference. In other words Type I error is the rejection of the null hypothesis although it was true.

Q2: What is Type II error?

Type II error is the failure to reject a false null hypothesis. It occurs when a statistical test incorrectly fails to conclude that there is a significant difference between groups, when in fact there is a real difference.In other words, Type II error occurs if we accept the null hypothesis although it was false.

Q3: What is the relationship between Type I error and Type II error?

Type I error and Type II error are inversely related. As the probability of Type I error decreases, the probability of Type II error increases, and vice versa.

Q4: How can the probability of Type I error be controlled?

The probability of Type I error can be controlled by setting the significance level (alpha) of the statistical test. A lower significance level (e.g., 0.01) decreases the probability…

--

--