2 WEEKS INTO PRODUCT DESIGN AT Univelcity… The journey so far!

Gideon Ugochukwu
2 min readNov 11, 2020

--

Earlier in my career as a Graphic Designer, I thought design was all about the creation of flyers, logos, magazines, etc and some times websites. So whenever I heard the word “design”, I immediately thought of the aforementioned.

My name is Chiakwa Gideon Ugochukwu, and I want to share with you my journey so far as a Product Design student at Univelcity, a tech school..... It's just 2 weeks by the way 😄

Before I share my experience, I think I should share with you how I found Univelcity.

I have always loved the aesthetical part of design - I can say that I am driven by how design looks. However, it is noteworthy that that is just a part of design that actually depends on another for its usability and usefulness. And that is the part of functionality – how design works (the thought process).

I came across the term PRODUCT DESIGN (UI/UX) last year, did some research on it and was fascinated about the results I got. I found out that I could build digital products like mobile apps and responsive websites that can help improve human lives and make the world a better place.

I remember asking questions on different WhatsApp design groups that I belonged to, for a good school in Nigeria that offered physical classes on product design. A few schools (including Univelcity) were recommended, but I found out that only Univelcity offered what I really needed.

It has been 2 weeks already in this journey and there have never been any regrets whatsoever in taking this course in this particular school.

First, the environment is really conducive and well designed for learning and the members of staff are just so cool. They are family!

The tutors, especially mine, Sir K, is very skilled. He is full of knowledge, patient, experienced and willing to help students come up to speed with the classes.

There are some projects we are currently working on, and I can’t wait to see them come to life! Let me state here that, you should be ready for a hands-on learning experience when you enroll for any course at Univelcity. That’s all we need by the way, yeah?

I am also excited about the kind of course mates that I have. Kai, they are a set of smart young people 🙌. I’m looking forward to creating magic with them within and outside the walls of Univelcity. I see a bright future already!

And finally, there's always launch at Univelcity, oh mah Gurd 😂😂. That part is quite important, you know.

Yeah, so that's it for now. I hope to share a regular update of my experiences here at Univelcity.

Gracias!

Kindly follow me on;

Behance: https://www.behance.net/designkingson

--

--