You might not need a computer science degree

Marcos Bérgamo
3 min readDec 16, 2018

For sure you might not need a CS degree, but that does not mean that you shouldn’t learn it somehow.

I started my Computer Science degree in 2012, just after leaving high school and while being already employed before starting it, because I had been in technical school studying programming back then.

After two years in CS, I realized that it was just “stealing” time from me, all those evenings that I could improve my JavaScript, Java, or any other development skills were lost to studying this Big O notation that I would never need to use in professional life (YET).

So, after realizing it, I dropped the studies and started to use this time to learn “real world” things besides academical ones. It was a really good experience. I spent long weekends playing with Node.js, doing what a friend of mine calls “server-side shit”, It was amazing, I was doing calculus, not coding a boring linked list in Java anymore, I was doing “production ready” code and sharing with the world.

That was a younger version of me, so much energy, lack of sleep and still being productive.

So, as you read these words, you might think that you should drop off your current degree or even don’t start one and follow the same path I did? Maybe that would not be a good idea.

--

--