7 Key Tips for Working From Home, Mindfully

New to working from home? Here are some best practices from someone who’s been working remotely for a year.

Your Fat Friend
8 min readMar 17, 2020
Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

I never thought I was a work from home person. I’d spent a dozen years in high-pressure jobs in big and bustling offices. I couldn’t fathom staying motivated without the exoskeleton of regular meetings, accountable face-to-face relationships with colleagues, and more. I couldn’t imagine a work world so different than the only one I’d known for the last decade.

But last year, I took the plunge into freelance writing and editing. It wasn’t just a career change — it also led to a reorganization of my life as a whole, my relationship to work, and my sense of how work happens.

As it turns out, I am a work from home person. I just needed to open myself up to work looking different than it had before. And I had to learn to notice my own habits without judgment, working with them rather than swimming against the pull of my own tides.

As more and more of us are practicing social distancing, quarantining ourselves in our homes, those of us with the flexibility to do so are working from home. If you’re new to working from home, you may feel intimidated by a looming learning curve, as I did last year.

--

--

Your Fat Friend

Your Fat Friend writes about the social realities of living as a very fat person. www.yourfatfriend.com