No Time for Dinner?

The Graceful Table
3 min readOct 11, 2019

--

Too often we give up trying to figure out what is going to be for dinner, so we give up. We go out to eat. We make chicken nuggets and hot dogs. Whatever will keep the family full and me out of the kitchen.

I never would have thought that it would be possible for a stay-at-home mom to say I’m too busy to make dinner. How in the world is that possible? I’m not proud of this fact, but it happens to me too. I give up trying to cook food because I just don’t have my life together enough to keep up with hungry mouths.

So this afternoon when I was about to call an audible and serve chicken tenders, I looked at what was in my fridge and something amazing happened. Harvest Hash!

Everyone has a Harvest Hash recipe, so this is not entirely an original idea. However it was what came from my kitchen when I felt like giving up before I even made an attempt. It is a combination of so many flavors that my husband’s first response when I asked him to take a bite was, “Oh, that’s good!”. And in the fall, we all love the tastes of autumn. Cinnamon, pumpkin, and savory vegetables. So, here you go — a new yummy treat that is both savory and sweet all at once.

And here’s the best tip…it can all be made ahead and reheated or assembled for a simple, quick dinner. Also, don’t forget to consider doubling it and throwing some of it in the freezer for next week.

HARVEST HASH
Serves 4–5

Tools

  • Cast iron skillet OR nonstick skillet
  • Medium saucepan
  • Baking sheet & parchment paper

Ingredients

  • 2–3 pounds sweet potatoes (approx. 4 cups cubed)
  • 1 pkg (12 oz) sugar-free bacon
  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 tablespoons maple sugar (or maple syrup)
  • 3/4 cup chicken stock (divided)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons arrowroot starch
  • dash of sea salt (to taste)
  • 2 cups roughly chopped rainbow carrots

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Cube sweet potatoes (approximately 4 cups). Toss in 1 tablespoon olive oil and lay on parchment paper in a single layer.
  3. Bake at 450 degrees for approximately 15 minutes or until fork tender.
  4. Cut bacon into small pieces and cook in cast iron or nonstick pan.
  5. Remove bacon, leaving drippings behind. Add ground beef and brown fully.
  6. Add cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, maple sugar and 1/2 cup chicken stock to ground beef.
  7. Mix arrowroot starch and 1/4 cup chicken stock. Whisk until arrowroot is dissolved. Add to pan.
  8. Roughly chop carrots and add to a saucepan with 1/2 chicken stock and/or water. Cover with lid and allow to steam approximately 10 minutes. Add more water or chicken stock as needed to steam carrots.
  9. Once carrots are steamed, add to ground beef mixture.
  10. Serve over cubed, roasted sweet potatoes.

--

--