Scholarship

How I Answered Question 2 of the CFA Access Scholarship Essay

The exact essay prompts that got me the CFA Access Scholarship twice for my Level and Level 2 exams

Rokeebat Hammed
2 min readMar 4, 2024
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

I recommend reading this post first to get a general understanding of the different sections and to learn a little bit about the scholarship

Read about the CFA Scholarship

Direct link to the CFA Access scholarship application page

Question 2: How will receiving a scholarship make a difference in your pursuit of the CFA designation?

I ensured my answer to this question addressed 2 major points while maintaining the 250 words limit.

Point 1: Aligning Long-term goal with CFA charter

Despite the significant capital market development pioneered by CFA charter holders and other finance professionals in Africa, the continent remains underrepresented in financial research within academia. Therefore, my background in economics, coupled with the CFA charter, will equip me with the theoretical, research, and analytical competency necessary to contribute to filling the research gap and advancing innovative solutions in Africa’s financial market.

Point 2: Why you need the scholarship

The CFA Access scholarship represents more than just financial relief; it marks a pivotal milestone in my journey to becoming an influential figure in the African financial landscape. This scholarship offers comprehensive support beyond an investment in my academic pursuits; it’s an investment in the positive changes I aspire to drive in Nigeria’s finance industry. With this scholarship, I can focus on other developmental areas needed to be an ethical professional without worrying about the financial burden of the CFA program.

Peridot💯

Nicely written and crispy; no cliché words and straight to the point.

Disclaimer: These are all my personal opinions from my personal experience. I do not work for the CFA institute and I do not have the CFA charter yet. So, do verify all information on the CFA institute website.

Thank you for reading!

If you find this enlightening please leave million claps. No, a hundred claps is enough😊.

Got something to add? Drop a quick comment! 📚💡

I am on personal and career development journey on Medium and here are 4 ways you can support me:

  1. Drop me a follow → Rokeebat Hammed
  2. Purchase my SOP writing service
  3. Book a 1:1 Academic Clarity Session
  4. Follow me on LinkedIn

--

--

Rokeebat Hammed

I write about productive systems, effective study methods, postgraduate study and scholarship applications, and share my international study experiences 👩‍🎓