UX Writing Challenge: Day 4

Emmanuel Fayomi
3 min readMay 30, 2023

--

Another day of immersing myself in the world of UX challenges. I’ve made it a habit to tackle these challenges in the morning, and I see no reason to deviate from what’s working. So, without further ado, let’s jump into today’s challenge.

Before diving in, I took a moment to consider the target audience for this particular service. Who would benefit the most from it? And the answer became clear: remote workers and 9–5 professionals. These busy individuals are in constant need of convenient solutions to make their lives easier.

So, my goal was set — to appeal to busy people and present them with a solution that unlocks a lifetime of convenience. The copy needed to emphasize the return of precious time for their work, passions, and personal well-being.

That was the task, and I was equal to it, or we will soon find out.

Iterations:

V1:

  • Headline: “Sign up once, grocery shopping forever”
  • Body Copy: “Fresh food delivered to your doorstep every month. You don’t have to do market runs again.”

V2:

  • Headline: “Best in-store price grocery shopping”
  • Body Copy: “Fresh food delivered to your doorstep every month. Earn free delivery for orders over N50,000.”

V3:

  • Headline: “Best in-store price grocery shopping”
  • Body Copy: “Fresh food delivered to your doorstep every month. You don’t have to do market runs again.”

Buttons

I think the buttons came in easy for me. Must be my superpower.

I decided to stick with the same button I came up with first:

Button 1; Sign me up

Button 2: Maybe Later

Evaluation and Analysis:

Each iteration presents a unique approach to promoting the monthly grocery subscription service. Let’s analyze their strengths and potential impact on the target audience:

V1: For Variant 1, I wanted to highlight the convenience and long-term benefits of the service.

  • The headline, “Sign up once, grocery shopping forever,” creates a sense of convenience and long-term commitment, enticing users to join the service.
  • The body copy emphasizes the benefit of fresh food being delivered to the user’s doorstep every month, eliminating the need for regular market runs.

V2: For this, I focused on the cost savings and rewards.

  • The headline, “Best in-store price grocery shopping,” suggests that users can enjoy competitive prices while availing the convenience of monthly grocery delivery.
  • The body copy highlights the opportunity to earn free delivery for orders over N50,000, adding an incentive for users to choose this subscription service.

V3:

  • The headline, “Best in-store price grocery shopping,” maintains consistency with V2, emphasizing affordability and competitive pricing.
  • The body copy reiterates the advantage of having fresh food delivered monthly, removing the hassle of frequent market runs.

Conclusion:

This was a hard one for me, because all the copy I drafted were bonkers.

But given the challenge to write a promotional home screen for a subscription service that delivers groceries to the user once-a-month for a flat fee, I decided to go with Variant 1:

Challenge Day 4

Phewwww! I made it yet another day.

Like always, thank you for reading to the end. If you think I could have done better, kindly shoot me your feedback in the comment section.

See you tomorrow. Maybe? I dunno yet.
LOL.

--

--