How to pass the Comptia A+ in under 3 weeks from a 14 year old!

The IT Guy
3 min readAug 19, 2020

--

Note: If you want a more up-to-date and better version of this, head over to here: https://www.birkaran.com/comptia-a

My study plan for the Core 1 (220–1001):

Firstly, I started off by watching Mike Meyers and honestly, I really liked it but it was just really long and really off-topic at times. So after that, I watched all of Professor Messer’s 1001 course and that just made me feel really ready, but to consolidate everything, I just did tons of practice questions, from sites like: ExamCompass and Crucial Exams. I was scoring in the 90%s on these tests but after that, I made an account on the most underrated platform of all time, Percipio by Skillsoft (this was all free, no card details or anything) and I used the Wiley test app which came included with the Wiley books which came included Percipio WHICH WAS ALL FREE! I like to describe Percipio as the Netflix of IT certifications but better. Also, I did try O’Reilly but that was like only 10 days and I just preferred the Percipio platform. Right, after I did all of that, I finally attempted Dion’s tests and on the first one I got 90% and on the second one I got 77% and that was first time. I then read ALL of Dion’s answers and just understood all of them. I did all of that in a week and scored a 744 and although this isn’t a super good score, it’s a pass and there’s a reason why Comptia classed this as a pass as well, so yeah I’m pretty happy about my pass.

All of the links for the resources for the 220–1001:

Mike Meyers course

Professor Messer’s course

Exam Compass

Crucial Exams

Pretty much every single A+ book, including 1000s of questions for the A+ (a 60 day free trial)

Jason Dion’s tests: A MUST!!!

My study plan for the Core 1 (220–1002):

  1. Watch Professor Messer and only watch that with doing nothing else. I didn’t make notes or anything this time. I finished the Operating Systems section on the first day, the Security section on the second day and the last two sections on the third day.
  2. Then, I spent the next day doing only practice questions, about 2 hours of the Wiley Sybex app and I also did a 1.5 hours Jason Dion test and got 70%. When I got this result, I was extremely sad and pretty much just took the rest of the day making a list of all the topics I got wrong.
  3. Then, I made a list of the topics I got wrong. After that, I watched Professor Messer’s videos for those topics and this time, I made notes! I also watched Jason Dion PBQ videos now and made notes on them. This all sounds like a lot of notes but it was only about 20 pages of notes and it didn’t feel like a lot of effort because I only wrote down the bits I had no idea about because I, personally, believe there is no point to just keep on learning the things you’ve already consolidated. I took one day to write all these notes.
  4. Now, it’s day 6 and I start off by doing some more Wiley Sybex questions and then do a Dion test and get 71%. I get pretty sad cuz I’ve failed the second practice test but then take a good read of all my notes and then just go out to the pitch and play some hockey for a few hours and just chill out.
  5. Then, I took the practice tests again and got 85% on the first one and 95% on the second one. These practice tests were really helpful and if you just got one resource out of all this, it’d be this!
  6. And that’s how you get a 769 in one week without cramming in revision 24/7.

All of the links for the resources for the 220–1002:

Professor Messer’s course

Exam Compass

Crucial Exams

Pretty much every single A+ book, including 1000s of questions for the A+ (a 60 day free trial)

Jason Dion’s tests: THEY ARE AMAZING!

Thanks for reading and I hoped you like it! Now, onto AWS stuff!

--

--