BULLET JOURNALING

Juneta Key
4 min readMay 18, 2017

--

Productive Tool The Bullet Journal

I love journals, but not all are useful. I use them for a time and then forget about them. They don’t suit my daily routines in the long-term.

I figured out that was because I did not know how to use them in a productive way. I thought it was all about thoughts and feelings. I am not really a diary type person, although I do enjoy jotting down thoughts.

I love the bullet journal concept because I tailor it around my daily, weekly, monthly even yearly needs using it for many things.

When I started combining regular journaling with planning, scheduling and mind mapping it freed me. No freeze up or burn out, as I had experienced in the past when trying to journal or do morning pages.

I have used three blank journals in three months. I use the front side of the journal pages and then flip it upside down and use the back side of the journal pages to extend use of a single journal.

Since any blank book or journal works, I can go back and use those old discarded journals to save money.

I tend to make my bullet journal an all-inclusive, instead of a single journal for each need. I make my tabs with sticky notes or tab strips. Stickers are fun to use too. This size also makes it pretty easy to carry wherever I go.

ON AMAZON

NOTE: You can use any kind of journal even a spiral notebook for a bullet journal. I use a 5.5 X 8.5 spiral sketch pad for mine from Amazon.

I have a small ruler and protractor for creating. I use color pens, pencils, and sometimes pre-made stencils to trace.

I use my bullet journal for everything.

Planning, Scheduling, Creating a Mission Statement, Ideas for Blogging, Brain Storming, Mind Mapping, Doodling-Sketching, Notes, Lists, Calendars, Writing Flash Fiction, Outlines of Stories, Story Flow Charts, or whatever else I think of doing.

I do not do a monthly or weekly calendar in my bullet, but I do make a daily calendar split in two halves, one side for planning and the other for scheduling my day and lists.

The bullet journal gives me a more creative way to break down my plans and schedules, encourages deep thought in the process without having to worry about space in a little square.

I bought a pre-made Weekly/Monthly planner created by Blue Sky for basic calendar use for single entries, in a 5×7 handy size, for quick referral and tracking at a glance.

On Amazon

Bullet Journal — The Analog System for the Digital Age

Getting Started — Bullet Journal

#bulletjournal • Instagram photos and videos

How to Lead an Intentional Life | Ryder Carroll | TEDxYale (Creator of The Bullet Journal)

HOW TO BULLET JOURNAL

BEGINNERS GUIDE TO BULLET JOURNAL BELOW: A SERIES OF 4 VIDEOS, plus presentations from various people on the bullet journal. Pick the ones you like or google for more, because there are tons.

If you enjoyed this story, click on the green heart on the left side below the article, and give it some love.

Juneta is a speculative fiction writer. She always wanted to live some place tropical retiring early from police/fire/EMT-911 communications dispatch. She is now a Texan living in Florida.

She loves writing about Gothic space opera, paranormal fantasy adventure, mysteries and romance with all the complexity of human nature mixed in, whether human or non-human, mage, mystic or pilot.Read More about Juneta Here

Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit Website & blog

Want to contact me? Email Me Here.

You can also find her on Twitter and Facebook and Mind ~ Heart ~ Spirit: The Journey blog.

--

--