Best order to watch Star Wars

Jesse Choo
5 min readMay 5, 2020

If you’re like me during this COVID-19 pandemic, I’m flipping through the various streaming services to find new content to watch.

Good news, Disney recently released the latest Star Wars movie two months earlier on their streaming platform (Disney +), The Rise of Skywalker.

In this third installment of the Star Wars sequel trilogy, and the last episode of the nine-part Skywalker saga, The Rise of Skywalker follows Rey and the Resistance’s last stand against the First Order.

If you have not watched the other Star Wars movies, or if you have never watched a Star War movie at all (maybe you’re watching with your kids for their first time), you may be wondering where to start.

There are some questions to consider:

  • Do I start with the original trilogy or the prequel movies?
  • Do I need to watch every movie?
  • What about the standalone movies?

Here’s a guide on the best order to watch Star Wars, and my recommendations.

WARNING: there will be spoilers in this article for those who have never watched Star Wars before.

Option 1: Production Release Order

--

--

Jesse Choo

I am a Canadian business professional who currently lives in Amsterdam, Netherlands. I share stories about personal development, business, and life in general.