5 Reasons Why I Left my 9-to-5

Joe K
3 min readNov 22, 2023

In my last post, I wrote about 5 things I noticed when I left my old job. For this article, I’m going to take a step back and briefly go through what led to my decision to ultimately leave my last role.

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

In a world that often values stability, my decision to bid farewell to my job without a safety net may seem like a leap into the unknown. But the truth is, sometimes the need for change becomes undeniable. Below, I share the deeply personal reasons that fueled my choice to step away from the security of my last position without another offer in hand.

Reason 1: Exhaustion and Fading Interest

The startup grind took its toll on me, and the initial interest I had in my work started to dim. Though my latest role only lasted for 8 months, it had left me feeling burnt out, and I knew I couldn't continue down that path. Quitting without a backup plan was my way of giving myself the time and space to rediscover what I enjoy in my work.

Reason 2: Craving Personal Growth

Stagnation felt like a weight on my shoulders, hindering personal growth. Day in and day out, I was pretty much doing the same thing over and over again. Leaving my job without another offer was an intentional move to break free from the comfort zone that had become a gilded cage. I…

--

--

Joe K

Writing about how-tos, tech, gadgets, and anything else that interests me!