This Just In… The Time Is Always Now.

The Just Project
6 min readApr 29, 2018

--

Thanks for tuning in! This week’s post features: The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle (book), A Good Place To Have Bad Ideas by Austin Kleon (blog), 5 Ways to Listen Better by Julian Treasure (ted talk) & more. Enjoy…

Book: The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle (191 pgs)

I tend to be a futurist. Let me explain. Growing up I was always excited by the next step. I couldn’t wait to get to high school, I couldn’t wait to get my license, I couldn’t wait to get to college. It was especially bad when I got to yeshiva. I thought to myself that I’m going to stay here until I find something I am passionate about. This turned what was supposed to be a 4-month exploration into a 2-year pitstop. To some extent, this is what kept me going, which ended up being a blessing and a curse. A blessing because I think these 2 years will be some of the most transformational of my life and a curse because for most of this time I felt stuck. I kept waiting, continuously waiting, for this thing called inspiration to strike me. Obviously, this angered me. I watched people grow, form new relationships, learn new skills, and move on.

I dealt with it by rationalizing that I had to suffer in the present to set my self up for future success. This thought process continued pretty much until I read this book.

Sometimes I still fall into this trap. Fortunately, I now have tools to handle this thinking and pull myself out faster and easier than before. In this book, I learned that anger can only exist outside of the now. It happens when you want or expect something to be a certain way and it’s not. When you create a view of the world that isn’t aligned with reality. I was doing this time and time again. These conditions that I put on my future made me wildly unhappy in the present. I couldn’t enjoy the moment because I kept wondering if any of this would help me later. I am now relearning to live in the present, something that has become foreign to me.

Don’t worry mom, I still plan on getting a job and working when I get home.

If you fall into this trap also, read this book. As you read, see how both your mind and your body respond to the words on the page. It is possible, and very likely, that certain parts won’t resonate on a cognitive level but will touch you. Don’t worry if you feel but don’t totally understand something. The words are only meant to be a guidance mechanism to get you to be here, now.

Blog Post: A Good Place To Have Bad Ideas by Austin Kleon (3 mins)

same picture from the post

Everyone could use one of these. Everyone could use a safe space where they can talk freely, without judgment. To express their true thoughts, to let go of negative feelings, to share secrets. Everyone could use a lab to experiment. Everyone could use a practice facility, a good place to work out the kinks in their game to take them to the next level. Everyone could use a forum to share undeveloped ideas or unfinished works to try to solidify them or to do some market research to test the waters to see if this the thing is worth developing.

For me, this is that place and it has been one of the major building blocks of my growth. I’m not telling you that you need to start a blog, but definitely have a place, without any pressure, that you can have bad ideas.

Ted Talk: 5 Ways to Listen Better by Julian Treasure (7 mins 50 secs)

Last week we spoke about how to be a better speaker, but that’s only half the equation. Today I want to look at the other side and talk about how to be a better listener. This talk was actually given first, but I’m using it as follow up to Julian’s other talk. In this talk, Julian defines how we listen, why we aren’t good listeners anymore and gives us, as the title says, 5 ways to be a better listener. Imagine what being a better listener could do for you. Better — more conscious — listening creates better understanding. As Julian says, listen consciously and live fully.

The 5 ways to be a better listener are:

  1. Silence
  2. The mixer (identify as many individual sounds as you can)
  3. Savoring (enjoy mundane sounds a.k.a. the hidden choir)
  4. Listening positions
  5. RASA (receive, appreciate, summarize, ask)

With Julian’s help maybe we can become better listeners, more engaging speakers and encourage more conscious listening, improving conversations around the world. So, listen up and make meaning of the sounds in both of these talks.

Bonus: The Science of Happiness by Happify

According to this chart, happiness = how satisfied you are with your life + how good you feel on a day-to-day basis.

After coming across a lot of sources that claim circumstances don’t determine your level of happiness, I assumed it was all in your head. This chart, however, says 10% is based on circumstances and only 40% is controlled by thoughts, actions, and behaviors. Apparently, the other 50% of our happiness is biologically determined. I knew that certain people have a bigger disposition to be happier than others but I had no idea that biological factors play this much of a role.

What I did know, is that happiness is a skill and we have the ability to build it. I also knew that being happy is healthy; so nourish your happiness by developing relationships, having new experiences, giving to others, being grateful for what you already have, and living aligned with your deeper purpose or mission. Avoid comparisons and let go of resentment to avoid the sickness of unhappiness. Also as stated above, live in the present.

Lastly, contrary to popular belief adversity is healthy. Overcoming it gives you a sense of accomplishment and whether you rise to the challenge or not adversity gives you perspective and increases your resiliency.

If you want a quick boost of happiness scroll toward the bottom of the picture in the link for a few ways to boost your happiness instantly.

Quote: “It is better to be prepared for an opportunity and not have one than to have an opportunity and not be prepared” — WHITNEY M. YOUNG, JR.

The other day somebody asked me why I keep writing these posts if I don’t actively pursue “success.” To an outsider, this might seem meaningless, but it’s not. Firstly, as I said above, this is a good place to share my undeveloped, potentially bad ideas.

Secondly, as I have said a few times before, this acts as a journal for me to share my unfiltered ideas. Luckily, I have the luxury to do this since not many people are paying attention.

Thirdly, this is the best practice facility. I don’t know if an opportunity to write will ever come my way, but if one does I will be exponentially more prepared now that I have been doing this.

This is my playground, a way for me to express myself and frankly, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

What was your favorite bullet in this post? If you had to pick only one bullet to keep in this post what would it be and why and if you had to get rid of one what would it be and why? Send a message or comment below.

Find any good content lately? Send it to thejustproject@gmail.com. Include “I want to be featured” as the subject for a shout out.

Like us on Facebook to stay updated on everything that is The Just Project.

Please share with anyone you think might be interested!

To your growth! Stay curious…

P.S. If you want my notes for the book above, send me an email with the subject “Notes for (insert book name)” and I will happily share.

--

--

The Just Project

Just trying to spark curiosity, create a desire for knowledge, and help people actualize their potential! Reach me @ https://www.facebook.com/thejustproject/